Dtube Exclusive | Somebody That I Used to Know (Ukulele Cover)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

0B80C163-0DA9-4AAB-A4DB-B31EF4FD429B.jpeg

Hello Steem Friends,

I remember when this song came out about five years ago and I could regularly be seen rocking out to it in my car! I hadn't tried playing it on the ukulele before today, but decided to give it a shot.

I feel like the real purpose and heartbeat of this song is the percussive back beat. I rarely try to do a more interesting strum pattern and sing at the same time and WOW, it was much harder for me than I thought.

It took me a couple hours of practice, but I really like how it sounds with the percussive strum pattern. This recording isn't perfect, but I hope you guys enjoy it!

I chose this cover photo because after struggling with this song for a while, I didn't have a lot of energy for a creative cover shot. We all have those days, right? :)

Here are the lyrics:


Now and then I think of when we were together
Like when you said you felt so happy you could die
Told myself that you were right for me
But felt so lonely in your company
But that was love and it's an ache I still remember

You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness
Like resignation to the end, always the end
So when we found that we could not make sense
Well you said that we would still be friends
But I'll admit that I was glad it was over

But you didn't have to cut me off
Make out like it never happened and that we were nothing
And I don't even need your love
But you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough

No, you didn't have to stoop so low
Have your friends collect your records and then change your number
I guess that I don't need that though

Now you're just somebody that I used to know
Now you're just somebody that I used to know


Thanks so much for listening! Love you guys.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS



A Few of My Recent Posts


DtubeDance // Good for You by Selena Gomez - Freestyle Ballet/Modern Dance
Dtube Exclusive - Hips Don't Lie by Shakira (Ukulele Cover)
Dtube Exclusive - You are my Sunshine (Layered Harmony + Ukulele)
Sort:  

thanks so much for sharing! just came across your page, and love all the covers youre doing! super dope. your voice has great texture! would love to collab with you, as i am a producer/multi-instrumentalist. it would be rad to create something for the steemit community together!

Wow, thanks @bipolar!! I love the idea of doing some kind of collaboration! What instruments do you play? Very cool that you are a producer and have that kind of experience as well!

so i play a little guitar, piano, drums, bass, and MIDI instrumentation/electronic production in general. so pretty versatile according to what the situation calls for. i could maybe send you over a simple loop or if u want to record a little ukelele loop or a vocal melody and send that over i could try to shape something around that. either way!

very nice, keep rocking

girls crushing it for 2018. it's 5:48am here. why am i awake! lol.

Aww thanks friend! And dang... that’s early!! I usually get up at 5:15 for work everyday ... so I feel your pain. 😞 Maybe you can grab a nap later? lol

that's the plan! :) wanna watch sunrise and take a lovely walk to the shop ;)

Aww that sounds great!!

yep, best times. love that mental space shift. i just took a walk to refill the water container with super cold water, bathroom trip and just cut up lemons to put in the infuser so when dayle wakes up she has super fresh lemon water for breakfast to start her day! :) -- btw what's your job?

Well, it is now about 5:30 AM here! Haha that’s really sweet that you started some fresh lemon water for her! I’m sure that made her smile when she woke up. :-)

I work for an orthotic insole and footwear company called superfeet. It is actually a pretty cool place to work, as we are a 100% employee owned company. I am an account manager (sales) for various shops around the country. That’s part of why I start so early, because I live on the West Coast, but have a lot of accounts on the East Coast. I want to be available before the shop opens because that is usually when it’s best time for them to communicate.

Even though I am working towards financial freedom, and I’m trying to build multiple streams of income - it’s not a bad place to hang my hat until I get there. :-)

absolutely. good skills. good to run lots of lines of residuals too! :) very cool!

Another awesome cover!! Cate!(i'm assuming your name is Cate, since your handle is @coruscate lol, and now i feel bad cuz i haven't asked your name until now, lol)

I love this song, but you should know that, since it seems like we are musical soul sisters haha!

Hahah we ARE musical soul sisters and I love that!

My name is actually Lea... haha. Don’t worry, you’re not the first want to think it is Cate! I just really like the word coruscate. It means “To reflect brilliantly, to sparkle”.

What is your name? Is it Kat? It’s funny how you can get to know people so well on Steemit without actually knowing they’re real name!

Oh. Well, you do look like a “Lea” 😄beautiful name by the way!.
What a beautiful meaning your handle has! I had no idea! .
Yes! My name is Katherine. So many English speaking steemians call me Soykat, lol... but my handle simply means “ I am Kat Online “ or “It’s Kat online “ off course they don’t know that since they don’t speak Spanish! Lol.

Speaking of Spanish.. last time I forgot to mention that you spanish on “Hips dont lie” was perfect! Do you actually speak Spanish?

It is amazing and funny that people would go on for so long not knowing each other’s names! I’ve been following you since i joined back in October .. it has almost been 3 months, but i am sure other users go way longer not knowing their Steemit friends names lol.

Ooh that’s so funny about your username! I never put together that the story was Spanish for “I am”.

By the way, THANK YOU for the comment on Spanish annunciations on “hips don’t lie.” I took two years of Spanish in high school, but that was over a decade ago! I was a little nervous about pronouncing things wrong, so I am relieved to hear that it sounded OK!

I wish I spoke the language more, but I remember very little from my classes in high school.

I love it, you’re very talented!

Aww thanks @lpreap! I appreciate you listening and leaving such a thoughtful comment!

You are such an amazing musician. You caught my attention the very first time i heard you sing. I am officially your fan now. Much love from Nigeria.

Aww thanks my friend!! Your consistently kind words and support mean so much to me!! 😊

Awesome 😎👍 - just lovely, great cover I have a uke, I really need to get into picking that thing up EVERY DAMN DAY lol! 🙄 Thanks for sharing - have followed and upvoted - Cant wait to see more 🤗

Oooh that’s so fun you play the uke as well!! Consistency really helps and so I think playing a little everyday is a great idea!!

Let me know if you ever post a music video, I’d love to check it out!!

The lyrics are great it flashes back to when both lovers were still in love and in good terms. You sound so great with the cover. Hope to see more of you.

I said the same thing. :)

Thanks @tyrex! Great reflection on the lyrics. This song really has a lot of passion, sorrow and anger.

You are welcome. Yes, it is. You are beautiful and the smile though....😚

Aww thank you. That’s very sweet of you to say!

Keep up the great content! Already am a fan ;)

Aww thanks for all of your support @markusmusic!

Hey! Your voice is SO SWEET! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46