Dtube Exclusive | You are my Sunshine (Layered Harmony + Ukulele)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Earlier today, I was giving a ukulele lesson to a co-worker on our lunch break and I was trying to think about what would be a good "intro" song for her to learn. "You are my Sunshine" is a perfect song for beginners because it has pretty simple chords and it can be played pretty slowly and still sound good. We had a lot of fun working on this earlier and it has been stuck in my head the rest of the day!

I decided to cover this for you guys, but add a little harmony to make the vocals more interesting.

Also... did you guys know this is actually a pretty heartbreaking song? Most people associate this song as being a light and cheerful tune, but the song actually mourns the loss of a loved one. Here are the lyrics I am singing so you can check it out. I'll spare you the other six depressing verses.

You are my Sunshine

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are gray
You'll never know dear, how much I love you
Please don't take my sunshine away

The other night dear, as I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms
But when I awoke, dear, I was mistaken
So I hung my head and I cried


Maybe one day i'll change all the chords minor and do a darker version of this song... but for today - here's a little ukulele cover of "You are my Sunshine".

Thank you so much for stopping by and listening. It means so much to me!

xo, @coruscate


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

really good, I love it ,,

Aww thank you @jkenny! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 💕

That's cool. I like the split screen, and how you can harmonize with your own voice. I record at home and I play all the instruments myself. Mayble I'll overcome my shyness and post something on Dtube.

You definitely should!! Steemit it is such a supportive place for musicians! The first few videos I posted were pretty cringe worthy, but I have definitely seen an improvement by posting more regularly. Have you run across the open mic contest yet? That would be a great place to get started, because it is a huge community and you would get a lot of encouragement on your first post. :-)

Here is the contest for this week - https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-66-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

If you follow @luzcypher, you’ll see his weekly post about open mic.

Hope that helps! I’d love to see your music sometime!

Great information! I'll look into it. Thank you!

Really nice voice, well performed!

Aww thanks so much @harrisonmir!

You're welcome, glad I stumbled across this - I need some good, positive vibes now and again!

Both you and your music is beautiful. I would love to hear more of that here in steemit :)

wow,beautiful,love this voice

Aww, thank you so much!

be happy with dtube

nice post..

You have to sing always and great words. I can give you a words if you like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46