Mail Order Trees Part 1: Unboxing

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


This is the first of a three part video series where I recount my first experience with mail order trees. In this video I discuss the vast differences between the packing methods and condition of the trees from two nursery's I tried this year. I also get started planting some of the trees but, unfortunately, I don't get far before being attacked by something!

Last year, we purchased some land and I had been quite excited to start experimenting with planting different fruit and nut trees. After conducting quite a bit of research on hardy fruit and nut tree nurseries early this year I found multiple options to source what I was looking for. I even did a couple video reviews on the nurseries I had come across.

When it was time to choose where to buy trees, one of the biggest factors that influenced my decision was whether or not I could even place my order online! Surprisingly, a lot of the nurseries didn't have an online order form. If this lack of service was a deterrent for me, I can't imagine how much business these nurseries are giving up simply by not being internet friendly. In the end, this worked out well because I really didn't have time to deal with the trees anyway.

The two nurseries I ordered from were:

Treetime.caTreetime.ca

Green Barn FarmGreen Barn Farm

Treetime seemed very professional and had fairly inexpensive trees. They had an efficient online ordering system. There were a few trees that they weren't able to ship and they made it easy for me to modify my order. When my trees arrived they were packed well and came with a packing slip and a few brochures, one of which had planting instructions.

Greenbarn Nursery, however, was a bit of a pain despite having a very nice selection of hardy trees. We found out that while they had an online ordering system they didn't have a payment system in place. We had to send them an e-transfer and then wait for confirmation. Well, the confirmation never arrived and our online account wasn't updating with a confirmation of payment so we had to contact them to ensure they realized the payment had been sent. Even then they wouldn't give us a hard shipping date which made planning for when to plant the trees difficult. Watch the video to see what else happened once the trees arrived.

Have you had any experience with mail order nurseries before? Any tips of tricks you would like to share? Please leave a comment below and consider following and upvoting to support this content.


▶️ Watch on DTube
▶️ Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Excellent. I have always wanted to order some this way but always found a better deal at Wal Mart or decided to plant seeds or grow from cutting. Another great post. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you! I highly recommend Treetime. They are affordable, ship their trees frozen, even later in the spring ( they must keep them in a giant freezer!) And you can schedule your delivery date. January is a good time to start shopping for trees as these nurseries start to sell out of some things by March or sometimes earlier.

Awesome. I will check them out, I have run out of room though since I have already planted hundreds of Trees. My favourite so far is my dwarf Empire Apple Tree. Best apples ever.

Cool I will have to see if they are hardy here.

They are here in Eastern Ontario - near Ottawa.

I bought 15 white pine seedlings 10 years ago ... about 2 foot tall from a Christmas tree farm and planted as a wind break - they are now almost 30' tall. I trim them (new candle growth in June) to keep them at 30' tall .... otherwise they would go to 200' and block all the sun.

Thats, crazy. We don't have white pine around here as far as know.

Yes - we have found some really good deals at Walmart at the end of the growing season. They are practically giving them away. Especially the blue berry bushes.

Good to know. I generally avoid Walmart but if they have affordable trees it would be worth a look.

I had difficulty watching the video. Dtube doesn't work for me most of the time and finally I watched it with the watch source link, but it loaded really slowly. However, that said, a really informative video. I would love to have trees shipped to me here but most places won't ship to Nicaragua or the customs won't let them enter. I will be applying for a special licence that will allow me to do so. I have been able to receive some horseradish root but it was so long n transit that it was a piece of shrivelled dry plant matter when it arrived.

I could not get Dtube to work either - so I need to stay with Youtube until it gets fixed.

I am patiently waiting...

What browser do you guys use? I usually upload with Firefox and I am able to watch them using the Firefox and Brave browsers.

We us Firefox as our main browser. I am wondering if our internet conection is not fast enough for these videos. Remember we live in a third world country where the infrastructure is not always up to date.

That could definitely be part of the problem. Also Dtube seems to be finicky. A few weeks ago I was having trouble with it but lately it has worked pretty good for me. Hopefully it improves. YouTube needs more competition.

That's too bad about the horseradish root. Here in Canada we have quite a few mail order nurseries. Do you have any in Nicaragua? Or is stuff mostly sold local.

I do reduce the size(quality) of the Dtube videos. I am not sure what else I could do to make them play well.

Me neither. This Dtube is a whole new ballgame for me. We don't have anything like mail order in the country. We are too small and very third world. I try to grow everything from seeds but some things don't do well.

You know a lot about the plat. I have got information to which this video!

Nice video! I can only say that my mom always ordered from nurseries and always had great success. She had a green thumb, unfortunately I did not inherit that. Looking forward to see what happens.

Thanks, I don't know if a "green thumb" is just an interest in something or if some people are just better with plants.

She was really great with plants = )

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great page!!! i will see if i get some to my grandparents farm!!!
Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for watching! What type of trees are you thinking about for your grandparents farm?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56