Christmas Rabbit Pie: Part 1- Rabbits on a plane.

in #dtube6 years ago


The holiday season is upon us and that means great time spent with family and friends and amazing food. Many families have holiday traditions and a lot of those are centered around food. Our house is no different. One of the most important holiday food traditions for me is Rabbit Pie. This is a tradition that was started long before I even existed. My father’s family were hunters and one of the game they enjoyed the most was rabbit. Every year my dad would make rabbit pies and it was tradition to eat them for breakfast on Christmas Day.

When I moved to Ottawa, it became very difficult to continue the tradition of making rabbit pies for Christmas breakfast. The big issue was accessing wild rabbit. Hunting rabbit here in the area is not as prominent as in Nova Scotia and the farm-raised rabbit tastes completely different. Farm-raised rabbit tastes very much like chicken. In fact, it actually looks like chicken once it is cooked. Wild rabbit has a gamey flavour to it and a distinct dark colour to the meat.

I had gone years without making our traditional rabbit pies until a few years ago my sister and I looked into the possibility of shipping the rabbits to Ottawa. There is a store in Halifax that sells wild rabbits. We looked into several different shipping options but the best was flying them up using Air Canada Cargo. This reduces the shipping time and they are able to keep the package refrigerated. Since then, my sister has been sending us rabbits for Christmas and the day I go pick them up is always an exciting day.

My sister packages the rabbits up in a cooler and they are still frozen solid when they arrive here in Ottawa. This year, they were dropped off at the airport in Halifax at 6 AM my time and I picked them up at the airport at 4 PM and they were perfectly frozen. A huge thank you to my sister who does this for us every year. It is the best Christmas present ever.

Stay tuned for the next installment where I will be making the pies.

BroncoLogo.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh, man. I can't wait to see how this all turns out.

I don't remember eating wild rabbit. I know I must have, but when I was young a disease swept through our rabbits, I think it was brucelosis which was a disease the cows could get and, well, it wasn't good. I do remember my dad showing me how to check for the disease, but that is all with the wild rabbits.

I do remember domestic rabbits. We raised them until I was like 10, and I learned to kill and clean and skin them for mom to fry. You are right, they did taste like chicken, which is probably why we quit raising them. That or fear of the disease.

Anyway, it sounds just terrific, I love the Christmas tradition part. Looking forward to the rabbit pie!

Yeah, such a huge difference when they are farm-raised. It is the food they eat. If they eat like chicken, they are going to taste like chickens.

It IS the commercial gmo feed they give them. When I keep chickens and free range them and let them basically eat what they find (worms, insects, grass, things from my garden) their eggs are SO good. I trade them in for feed sometimes at our local grain supply in USA and they actually say that my eggs were So much better and asked what I was doing. I felt bad telling them, 'well mainly NOT feeding them your grain too much' :)

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

MEN IN BLACK: INTERNATIONAL - Official Trailer

Oh my god that is insane! I can’t believe you fly them into Ottawa! What a cool family tradition.

We’re sitting here sweating 🌞🌞🌞

Yeah, it is pretty amazing that we are able to do that. I am so lucky that my sister is willing to do it for us.

Well traveled rabbits.

I totally agree about wild hunted game vs farm raised. That is why I LOVE England, as here we just had a wonderful glut of rabbit and pheasant and it was NOT raised in captivity. And in fact the farm where I buy my meats, when we went to get our pheasant to make our 'american thanskgiving' meal this year here in England, you could see the racks of freshly shot phesant brought in by the hunters to the farm. The taste is wonderful and I LOVE rabbit and all game really.

I have some pigeon sausage thawing today for my next meat. They are huge here I mean I often mistake them for pheasant they are so big and juicy, and there is an endless supply so hunters provide the farm with a good stream of them.

There is also something nice about an animal getting to live it's life out in the wild before it becomes food. It has a beauty of the 'circle of life' to it and I think somehow you can taste that.

I hope you enjoyed your rabbit pie (I love game pie, with a mix of things as well) and that your family had a wonderful Happy Christmas.

@broncofan99 hi I don't like rabbit, here in Venezuela is difficult to find rabbit but I am willing to see the pie, ok

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44