You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christmas Rabbit Pie: Part 1- Rabbits on a plane.

in #dtube6 years ago

Oh, man. I can't wait to see how this all turns out.

I don't remember eating wild rabbit. I know I must have, but when I was young a disease swept through our rabbits, I think it was brucelosis which was a disease the cows could get and, well, it wasn't good. I do remember my dad showing me how to check for the disease, but that is all with the wild rabbits.

I do remember domestic rabbits. We raised them until I was like 10, and I learned to kill and clean and skin them for mom to fry. You are right, they did taste like chicken, which is probably why we quit raising them. That or fear of the disease.

Anyway, it sounds just terrific, I love the Christmas tradition part. Looking forward to the rabbit pie!

Sort:  

Yeah, such a huge difference when they are farm-raised. It is the food they eat. If they eat like chicken, they are going to taste like chickens.

It IS the commercial gmo feed they give them. When I keep chickens and free range them and let them basically eat what they find (worms, insects, grass, things from my garden) their eggs are SO good. I trade them in for feed sometimes at our local grain supply in USA and they actually say that my eggs were So much better and asked what I was doing. I felt bad telling them, 'well mainly NOT feeding them your grain too much' :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46