The Jury Is In. 3 Minute Vlogs, For The Win

in #dtube5 years ago


Yo yo my Steemies, Wattup?

In yesterday's DTube Snap Q

What's Your Ideal Video Length, From A Consumer Standpoint?

I put the question out there, to you, the audience

Well, the answer came in, and I'm glad that I asked, because it surprised me.

Think, Believe, Achieve.

Peace.

Music track - Colony, from Adobe Premiere Clip.

TA Banner Slim Bobaphet.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Posted with @steem-plus
Sort:  

Omg yeah I am also shocked a bit but I saw it coming :P

There are so many things to put in a vlog (especially a daily vlog) and so many informations to share within the day that I easily come to 10 minutes.

But of course the attention span is really short in these times and especialy for videos - so we need to think about separating the vlog-part from the real talk/message and drone shot parts.
I think it is achievable but I personally need to change my expectations about the content of my vlogs. hmm...

I appreciate that you are taking it seriously and count the opinions of your commentators high.

I like your philosophy vlogs a lot and I am excited how they will become when you are putting the message into 3 to 4 minutes. I think it is possible if we are making some preparation to change the explaination into something easier / shorter. That can be a huge upvalueing!

I have a lot of filling words in my talks. Uhm, ehm, soo, hmm, aaaand and so on. If I would cut them out, my video will become more "action" and I reduce the time extremely. So it could work pretty good.

But of course it is a lot more work for the creators. We need to know and think of that time aspect before recording to keep the message clear, reduce filling words, avoid long explainations and so on. We will see how this works :P

Thanks for asking that question and for publishing the results mate!

Thanks Tibby, it's certainly going to be a challenge for me, but I'm up for it 😎
You're spot on re: condensing the content too. I'm going to have to change my style to accomplish it. I like to talk from the heart, and thus run on the fly, almost channeling. To meet the time constraint, I will probably have to rehearse. I just hope that that doesnt detract from the genuinity of rhe message.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well damn, that's no surprise for me. I love short to the point vlogs, anything beyond 7 mins I skim through. Thanks for the poll and input.

Thanks Elsie. Time for bobaphet 2.0 😜
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

@bobaphet in the DTube set with videos for the ADHD generation :)

hehehe jokes apart, it's great you pulled the poll for everyone to have in mind that time is valuable for everyone.

Cheers brother!

Posted using Partiko Android

Time is an illusion, I am an illusion, you're an illusion, vlog? What vlog? 😁
Thanks brudda.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

"Do you think it's air what you are breathing?" -Morpheus

:P

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the perspective mate, and good idea of doing a poll. Personally it comes down to the time it takes to unfold the story, but keeping it as short as possible also makes total sense. Nice one buddy

Yes, it's going to be interesting to see how my short vlogs turn out, keeping the message in tact.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Always good to challenge yourself :) looking forward to the vids

5-12 minutes for me. I like playing the video while I do things or eat and dont want to be constantly changing clips inbetween.

Posted using Partiko Android

While you do things? I hope you're not jerking off to my videos again.
We talked about that...
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Really important message you shared there Bobaphet. At the end, we are making content for the people so we obviously have to adapt accordingly and see what they like

Thank you for this brother! Still love how you disappear at the end 😂

Winny out... for now 😉

Ps: perhaps it’s time that we collab again ha

Posted using Partiko iOS

A 3 min collab? We'd only have time each, to say hello and goodbye.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great information this will help a lot of people make better videos and not worry too much about length!

Thanks for stopping by @tanbay. I guess the key here is, quality over quantity.
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

we were just talking about this in @welcomewagon! :)

passing this around now!!! thanks!

I want to see @dreemsteem doing just a 3 minute video :)

I do have some in existence.... (Under 180) lolol

Posted using Partiko Android

Good point... and the next one is?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Someone who shall not be named didn't like them. He said he did later.... But he complained an awful lot when I was doing them 😉\n\nDon't bother calling him out on it now.... He'll deny it. But.... I eat my blueberries. I remember!!! Lolololol

Posted using Partiko Android

was someone having a bad day or two at the time?

Eh.\n\nHe just doesn't like audio... Video...or audio/video lol\n\nSomething to do with his job.\n\nI stopped paying attention to him after the third time he whined about it 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a good rule-of-thumb for us who create video. Thank you so much @bobaphet. Time to increase skill in talking so there will be no repetition and also editing skill as well.

I did a Dtubesnap reply to your post, I hope you like it :) .
https://steemit.com/dtubesnap/@mickvir/9ovdo8o7

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76