Why? (Zachem?) Tchaikovsky

in #dsound6 years ago


This is from July 2017 while I was doing an opera program learning about singing in Russian.

Why did you enter my dream, distant beauty,
Like a spitting frying pan.
Pillow lonely.
Vanish midnight!

Your eyes laid back,
Ash colored braids,
Lips proud,
It was all so real
I dreamed,
And like a dream raced off
Like my heart.

Why did you enter my dream, distant beauty,
Together with the dream.
Pillow lonely.
Why did you enter my dream!

Composer: "Зачем?" op. 28, no. 3 Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky 1875
Poet: "Зачем?" Lev Aleksandrovich Mey 1861
Cover Image: Princess Tarakanova by Konstantin Flavitsky 1864



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Lovely Singing! How is your Russian?

Upvoted and resteemed.

PS: don't forget to use the classical-music tag. Otherwise it is tricky for us to hunt down posts!


ClefCM.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto

Oh I forgot! Next time :) I do a decent job singing in it, but speaking it is a different question!

Very cool. Upvoted. When I was a young boy growing up in Soviet Russia, my parents owned a collection of LPs with classical music and one of them had that picture as front art. I still remember the music and the painting clearly. Thanks! That brought up memories very dear to my heart.

I’m glad I could do that for you! I just searched 19th century Russian artwork for something that might relate to the piece and this one was perfect.

How lovely! The songs sounds pretty stark for a Tchaikovsky composition for some reason... (But the 'spitting frying pan' line...An idiom perhaps?)

Congratulations @shemell! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shemell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43