Homecoming part 1 (poem) - Audio version

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)




A poem I wrote in late 2016, and have just recorded an audio version.

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


The moment counts like a breathing soul
Like a delivered parcel left on its own
And the winding back to a forgotten home

Nothing is as it seems
This was my home
Now so obscene
Yet lingers like a dream

There's future out there all around
But the past weighs heavy and holds me down
Unfinished business brings me back to town

Nothing is as it seems
Time to awaken from this dream



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Another great right Scott. ^^ I better do some of my poetry. Haven't been posting poetry in a while. ^

Thank you for your continuing support :)
I have a lot of poetry from my early days here, not sure if I like it all, but there are some I may consider recording still. But I think Audio Books is where I may go with the audio idea.

Always happy to read your works and just listened to it now. :) Always here for moral support!

Enjoyed, seems our past is always following behind us.

Never lets us out of sight. Thank you.

It's great to hear your Australian voice. The poem actually made me homesick not just for Chicago but a deeper yearning. I'm also thinking about dolphin school. Are you getting a lot out of it. I'm not really into it and having found anything interesting about it yet. Let me know how you are doing.

Thanks for taking a listen. I think this poem had several layers to it. It's interesting you felt also a a deeper yearning from listening to it. That's the core of what I was getting it. But ultimately I think poems mean different things for different people, so I appreciate you telling me your thoughts.

The dolphin school is not the sort of thing I would normally do. I have wanted to learn new ideas as well as broaden my reader base lately, so I guess I looked at it in that light. I have gotten a few good ideas from it, but it wont be for everyone. Certainly don't invest the time if you feel that way because it is a big time challenge to get through everything. But I'm glad that I am doing it. We'll see how i feel at the end of the 10 days :)

Day 2 was better. I have to admit part of the reason I joined was because I saw you had joined.

Sorry to have bailed on you then. Was a rough week so I had to rest and recuperate. Hope it's still useful to you.

I'm stopped after day 5. You did the best thing. It was really minnow school and great if you just joined Steemit but not for you. I got back into my old groove and things are working out well now.

I thought it may have been a good networking opportunity, but I agree, more minnow school, as it aimed at the very new. And probably very good for them. But we have our setups now, our style and voice.

Yes sir!! I'm still with you :)

Very interesting. This reminds me of certain unforgettable and painful memories of my childhood.

Thanks for sharing. This certainly came from my own difficult childhood memories and experiences.

Yes I could see that. Putting parts of yourself in poems and stories is such a courageous thing to do.

Courageous, or just foolish :) Whichever it is, that feeling of vulnerability is raw, and real.

Courageous for me. Embracing vulnerability is a great feeling in itself.

I don't know if it's just me, but the volume seems a bit low? In any case, that gives a whole new meaning to spoken word poetry. I remember when I first read this, the feeling of longing and being lost, still weighs heavily. I don't know if it's just a case of me relating, but I feel like the way you arranged this would inevitably pull on anyone's hearstrings. The addition of your narration is a huge plus. Nice work with this, mate! Great to see you getting the hang of it!

Thanks for letting me know about the volume issues. I'll look into that if I record again. Glad you felt the recording added to the impact and feeling of the poetry. That's what I am experimenting with. To see how things change as a result.

We're all getting experimental these days. That's the fun of it!

Seems we are. Can't be left behind now.

That's right! Gotta keep up, or as much as possible, stay ahead of the pack!

This makes me think of moments of alienation, where time and current events warp, for seconds or minutes, and nothing familiar makes sense.

I love the feeling this conjures up for you. I suppose those are very much aspects what I was getting at, as part of the overall theme. The alienation, and feeling of disconnect is certainly a large part of it.

So full of nostalgia... Like me. I love it. The title is so warm but as you read you realize it's not that kind of homecoming. It's full of happy-sad feelings.

Great job @naquoya! Beautiful accent too, (I know it has nothing to do with this but still).

No, not the warm fuzzy homecoming at all. More like a sense of regret and disconnect. Thanks for listening and sharing your thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38