In the Air Tonight by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



Hey everyone!

Today for the song request , this is "In The Air Tonight" by Phil Collins. it's a request from @cesarlrossi, congratulation on winning 1SBD!

LISTEN TO IN THE AIR TONIGHT ON DSOUND

It was super fun to work on this song, as I know it by heart like everyone else, what I didn't know is that there is a whole conspiracy online, which takes the form of an urban myth around the song, it is quite fascinating!

The truth is that Phil Collins is talking going through a divorce with his song.

LISTEN TO IN THE AIR TONIGHT ON DSOUND

I took the liberty to slow down the tempo to 80 bpm. the original being at 94 bpm.At first I had an arrangement very close to the original with virtual guitar sliding and very big drums, with a rock feeling to it.

Eventually the song became a Raeggeton, a merge between hip hop and Raegge, which is a style that comes from Puerto Rico in the late 90's and that reemerge today with tropical house and afro beat.
As I was exploring the bank of sound, I've found a subboom bass that works well, giving that dub feeling to it.

LISTEN TO IN THE AIR TONIGHT ON DSOUND

I hope that you enjoy it, I really like the turn it took, it was quite unexpected.What took the most time was the backing vocals, which gives that "Bob &the Wailers" feeling.

FUN FACT: There are more than 16 tracks on this song (Instruments/vocals/effects)

Here a cool fact on how the lyrics came to him:
Phil Collins improvised the lyrics during a songwriting session in the studio:

“I was just fooling around. I got these chords that I liked, so I turned the mic on and started singing. The lyrics you hear are what I wrote spontaneously. That frightens me a bit, but I’m quite proud of the fact that I sang 99.9 percent of those lyrics spontaneously.”

IN THE AIR TONIGHT

[Chorus]
I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord
I've been waiting for this moment for all my life, oh Lord
Can you feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord, oh Lord

[Verse 1]
Well, if you told me you were drowning
I would not lend a hand
I've seen your face before my friend
But I don't know if you know who I am
Well, I was there and I saw what you did
I saw it with my own two eyes
So you can wipe off the grin, I know where you've been
It's all been a pack of lies

LISTEN TO IN THE AIR TONIGHT ON DSOUND

[Chorus]
And I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord
Well I’ve been waiting for this moment for all my life, oh Lord
I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord

[Verse 2]
Well I remember, I remember don't worry
How could I ever forget, it's the first time, the last time we ever met
But I know the reason why you keep your silence up, no you don't fool me
The hurt doesn't show; but the pain still grows
It's no stranger to you or me

[Drum solo]

[Chorus]
And I can feel it coming in the air tonight, Oh Lord
Well, I've been waiting for this moment all my life, Oh Lord
Oh Lord

LISTEN TO IN THE AIR TONIGHT ON DSOUND

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and YOU get rewarded 1SBD if you're chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you, and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :)
Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!

#edprivat #songrequest #genesis #cover #life


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Love it!! Its a great spin on the song. Really enjoyed this one.

Yeah but it doesn't count cause your my wife so you like everything that I do.>RIGHT????

True but the truth is still the truth!! ;-p lol

@edprivat The cadence of the song thrills. i love it to bits!

It feels good

What a really unique interpretation, you have made this your own you seem to do this so effortlessly. So much better than a straight cover this gives the track a whole new colour and flavour. quite remarkable!

Man ! Thanks for the shout out , I am quite pleased by comment like yours after all the hard work,It's a nice reward. Come back tomorrow for some fresh original :)

And thanks for the resteem Deon

@edprivat Bruh! You killed this song! Fire vocals! Fire Beat Break Down Transition Mid Song! Beyond Awesome choice to move from 94 to 80 bpm!!! Perfect choice!! Enjoyed the fun facts as well. No clue about the conspiracy surrounding the make of the song, great knowledge!! I've really enjoyed this song during my school years but to hear it in a more modern tone, is completely Amazing! Keep up the excellent but Amazing work, Stardom is around the corner!! My wife and I are still blown away with vocals!!! #stayhumble

Your SBD is coming today btw sorry about that

No problem @edprivat Awesome! Thnx!!!

my pleasure :) congratz !

Hey @cesarlrossi ! Thanks so much man, it was very inspiring to work on it, I kept pushing as I really wanted to have it ready for today, I would have like added more things there and there(guitars), but yeah man , you made that song happened so thank you so much, and congratz on the 1SBD totally well deserved.And remember that you can play again any time :)
I will #stayhumble no matter what hahaha

Love how you put your spin on this one man...I really enjoy the Phil Collins version but this one is so smooth... You're extremely talented... diggin the reggae vibes as well... 🔥🔥🔥

Thanks bro ! I didn't forget about you, I am still trying to find time to finish my instrumentation for you..Maybe we should go with a common theme for the lyrics ?

Sounds good... I see you've been busy... Take your time... I appreciate you either way... Just keep putting out great content bro... 💯

Thanks so much I have to admit I am having a lot of fun experimenting on Steemit at the moment :) I just hope it doesn't get redundant. So yeah soul hip hop instrumentation, that's what we were talking about?

Yup... Hip-Hop Soul... But from listening to your work, I got a feeling that whatever you send will be magic... I'm looking to be challenged... A lot of the music that I've been posting is more than a couple years old... A few of them are fairly new and you can really tell the difference in content, production and sound quality... I've been making some amazing music the last couple of months and I'm eager to share it... My home studio is almost finished so I'll be putting out brand new music soon... really looking forward to collaborating...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68683.05
ETH 3860.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66