"Death of Railroad" - Modular ambient + Cat Power vox manipulation

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)


I almost never work with vocal samples, but after a Youtube deep dive into the granular hyjinx available in Ableton, I decided to take a stab. I first built a fairly complex patch on the modular, featuring lots of sweeping textures and brass-like wavefolding from the Synthesis Technologies E350 (this is my go to oscillator these days, as between its three wavetables and internal sound modulation/fm/wavefolding ... I can get close to what I'm looking for very expediently) and the Make Noise telharmonic doing its ringmodulated bell tone thing into Clouds to create some ominous atmosphere. I'm using both the actual two track stream of the live modular (fading in and out at key changes) and a sequenced tape head bouncing throughout the performance (which is actually the main loop of the piece at the top).

All of this is a bed for a Cat Power vocal sample. I was looking for something from Moon Pix era, tiny voice Chan Marshall but most of that stuff has amazing drum and guitar arangements over it courtesy of the Dirty 3 ... so in the end I grabbed an acapella bit from the intro to her newest record and went to town mangling the hell out of it. Check it out in its natural form below:

Using a similar technique to how I'm sampling the complex modular loop, I "play" this vocal sample with another step sequencer throughout the piece, using it again on the back end for some ominous two octave down vocal drones. Cross-bones style, indeed.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsP859ppT57MFiYUyyUs2jd65NA1ETs96zH5zLfk24pAutq5CmjaQ4ArM7Y8GGBnT2B6qWtwBayxP1CS1ZHM8Y25V9k5L5hjrpNBtWizaVFBc5WqqnaUxjbD9r32TJjYjk99j9G.jpeg

Sort:  

Great stuff my friend!BEER

Thanks Bucky!! Still rocking VCV? Friend of mine just built a sick controller for it.

I would upvote this twice if I could!

Thanks my dude!

Hey there Drumoperator!
Awesome piece ... i love that note ... i think you know the one!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Sounds like COOL and get relaxing. ☺️👍

Posted using Partiko Android

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @drumoperator, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Great stuff my friend!BEER

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Hey @drumoperator, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Thank you drumoperator! You've just received an upvote of 47% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


ANNOUNCING 2 MORE DELEGATION BOTS! Hey guys, if you like getting a constant supply of upvotes from @artturtle, you should definitely check out @tommyknockers and @thejollyroger for even more! Both these bots run on the same technology as @artturtle and so work the exact same way. Currently @tommyknockers grants up to $0.10 upvotes and @thejollyroger will add another $0.01 on top of that. These bots just launched so newcomers are getting 100% upvotes. Check them out and start growing your posts today!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72