These Are a Few of My Favorite Best Things Podcast - Episode 2 - Movie Soundtracks

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Last week, my best buddy on Steemit @fromage and I went and made ourselves a podcast. We talked about the best/our favorite video game soundtracks. You can check that out here on his channel. We had so much fun that we decided to continue with episode 2 of what I am tentatively calling the "These are a few of my favorite best things" podcast. It's over an hour, so it's quite the time commitment, but I hope you'll enjoy listening to it as much as we enjoyed making it.

How do you listen to an hour-long podcast, you say? Well, I like to listen to podcasts while I'm doing something else and just have it on in the background. There's no plot to follow, there's no test at the end... it's just something fun to have on while you're cleaning, working out, cooking, driving, or whatever. I'm not expecting you to sit down and block out an hour of your life to listen to this is I guess what I'm saying!

Anyway, if you do have a listen, let me know what you think! We're probably going to continue with this for at least another week or two. It's a lot of fun!


As I said, this episode is about favorite/best movie soundtracks. I came up with my list based on soundtracks which I thought elevated the movie to a higher level than could have been achieved without the music. In other words, Schindler's List doesn't make my list not because it doesn't have a phenomenal soundtrack, but instead because you could set that movie to silence and it would still be just as powerful. The movies in my list all have soundtracks which are better than the films themselves, basically.

Fromage went a different direction with his criteria and picked a lot of songs which are heavy on the vocals and which resonate with him personally.

What about you? See any favorites below? And if we missed something you think should belong, what is your criteria for picking it?

Top 10 as chosen by @dollarsandsense

  1. The Fountain - Death is the Road To Awe
  2. Star Wars - Imperial March
  3. Requiem for a Dream - Main Theme
  4. The Last of the Mohicans - Main Theme
  5. Fiddler on the Roof - Intro
  6. Braveheart - Main Theme
  7. The Godfather - Main Theme
  8. American Beauty - American Beauty
  9. Sicario - The Beast
  10. Stone - Main Theme

Top 10 as chosen by @fromage

  1. Beetlejuice - Main theme
  2. Lord of the Rings - Edge of Night
  3. The Graduate - Mrs Robinson
  4. Scott Pilgrim - Black Sheep
  5. The Good The Bad and the Ugly - Ecstasy of Gold
  6. Aladdin - Prince Ali
  7. Moana - You're Welcome
  8. Live and Let Die - Live and Let Die
  9. Lego Movie - Everything is Awesome
  10. Wild Wild West - Wild Wild West

Hope you enjoy!


Legal Disclaimer: None of the music used in this recording belongs to me or was written, composed, or performed by me. All the music in this podcast is copyrighted by the movie studio which produced the original film and is used here under the Fair Use exemption.


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


An original podcast created by @dollarsandsense and @fromage in which we spend an hour discussing our favorite or best things in a category. In this episode (the second in the series), we discuss our favorite/best movie soundtracks.
► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Your link game is amazing!

Y'all need to add The Mission soundtrack to the list. The Falls is simply one of the most evocative pieces of movie music ever and the whole score is genius!

Ah!! This isn't even on my radar! Must watch!

Thanks!

Not even heard of the film, I will check it out!

howdy @dollarsandsense! I don't have a way to play anything except a video online and that won't play but I wanted to stop by and show my support!

Thanks for the support! It’s not even playing properly for me either, so you’re not missing out :(

oh good. I mean oh that's bad! lol. you know what I mean.
you work the ambulance every weekend? and why do you want to do that for free?

Usually 3 weekends a month. Why NOT do it? 😁

Haha, if you mean why don’t I take a paid EMT position instead, the answer is because I value being able to do it so infrequently and on my own schedule and terms. Part time EMTs usually have a few more requirements than volunteers as far as hours go.

ok I get it, it's just that most people would never consider working at anything for free! Or am I a pessimist!

I mean people volunteer all the time, right? I just happen to do it on a more frequent basis. Lawyers work pro bono, people volunteer in soup kitchens and animal shelters... lots of people “work” for free.

I don’t really see it as work though. In a 12 hour shift I’m actually “working” at most 3 hours normally. The rest of the time I’m sleeping, reading, writing, or watching a movie or something. It’s almost like a little getaway, haha (don’t tell my wife I said that 😳)

haha! a little get away, yes that could become addictive.

as far as the other point about people working for free, that's different if it's working at soup kitchens or something. Most people would not want the stress and responsibility of working an ambulance for free, at least to me that's a whole different ball game and they wouldn't want the responsibility.
you forgot to put "posting" in your list of things to do while you're waiting on calls! lol

Hah! Yep I do a fair amount of that too 😉

I guess I never thought of it like that. The responsibility and stress doesn’t get to me in a bad way, though I do feel it. I guess it’s a different kind of stress than I’m used to. You don’t take it home with you the same way I do with my day job, where I’m never “done” at the end of the day and there’s always stuff hanging over my head. To me, that’s way worse, hah.

Congratulations @dollarsandsense! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Some iconic movie music scores for myself: Kill Bill, Mission Impossible, Star Trek, The Red Violin, Blackhawk Down, the new Tron (Daft Punk)..... Captain Underpants (come on, it's Weird Al lol)

There is definitely no shortage! I agree with you about Black Hawk Down. Phenomenal movie with a great soundtrack. And mission impossible has got to be one of the more recognizable tunes out there.

Not familiar at all with The Red Violin. Will have to check it out!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DollarsAndSense from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80