A polite conversation with @dollarsandsense and @fromage episode 1 : Our favorite best soundtracks

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Links to music featured:

Donkey Kong 64 - DK rap: youtube.com/watch?v=npuuTBlEb1U

Mario Kart 64 - Rainbow Road: youtube.com/watch?v=K5xdue7GFcc

King's Quest III - The Wizard Appears: youtube.com/watch?v=KLPXP5KkcMQ&t=10s

KIng's Quest III - what we played in the podcast (yes I know it's actually you appearing and then he makes you exercise, not dance): youtube.com/watch?v=ysfk0_LPUS8

Halo - Main Theme: youtube.com/watch?v=xufR_zt9o10

Quest for Glory IV - Hotel Mordavia: youtube.com/watch?v=6aEOjmJudp0

Red Dead Redemption - Various: youtube.com/watch?v=S6tcs0_NAUI

Civilization 4 - Baba Yetu: (yes, I know it won a grammy not a bafta) youtube.com/watch?v=IJiHDmyhE1A

World of Warcraft - Howling Fjord: youtube.com/watch?v=wjTe0R2bREY

Earthbound - Otherworldly Foe: youtube.com/watch?v=r9spthA_nAA

Perfect Dark - Chicago: youtube.com/watch?v=LC-Z_4YCMcA

Zelda Ocarina of time - Song of Storms (I know I screwed up the story of how this happened, but basically the idea of time shenanigans that drove a guy nuts with this song is pretty accurate): youtube.com/watch?v=L1Zln8X9ZRY

Homeworld - Various: youtube.com/watch?v=e6LRTwMc01k

Portal 2 - Want you gone: youtube.com/watch?v=dVVZaZ8yO6o

Starcraft - Zerg and Protoss Music (also human stuff, it's the full soundtrack): youtube.com/watch?v=J0lPR-XAW3g&list=PL82284CFB34DC70F3

7th Saga - Lux Tizer (whole soundtrack. Seriously check it out): youtube.com/watch?v=bWGqz44INrE&list=PL-vD6rIjXrcIiJJCaHY5yuITeZ6yMClS4&index=8

Super Mario RPG - Culex Fight: youtube.com/watch?v=ICBR9zCgAT8

Chrono trigger - Spekkio (whole soundtrack there too, also crazy good): youtube.com/watch?v=_MzLVOd-e8Y&list=PL21BAA7C6EDEB63A3&index=37

Wing Commander - Various: youtube.com/watch?v=9Joclz75KK4&list=PLkhr1edZuU2JujD10efwoA0x3WIRTtEdw

Kefka's theme: youtube.com/watch?v=NcMDlgdnZPI

Super Mario RPG - Forest Maze: youtube.com/watch?v=vkailb3xcTI

Photo by Hermes Rivera on Unsplash



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I cannot overstate how fun it was to make this with you. Looking forward to the next installment!

Yeah man, it was lots o' fun.

I was a little bit surprised not to hear The Elder Scrolls mentioned in this.

I do have to agree with the Homeworld selection. When I was a kid I used to have an old tape of Adagio for Strings that I'd listen to every night as a sort of ersatz lullaby after hearing the arrangement of it in Homeworld.

There were so many honorable mentions, Morrowind was definitely on my long list. We’ll just have to do an encore I guess!

Man....there is something that I should have included from Morrowind...dang.

This is awesome! all the themes that you bring here are really beautiful! it bring so good memories about that time when I was about 10 years old, playing Mario Kart and Donkey Kong on my 64, I was really bad playing haha but then I become more expert on gaming.

Is really excellent to listen to all this themes, and, if I have to choose my favorite one, that would be the HALO's Main Theme, that's a masterpiece.

Thanks for listening! The Halo theme is crazy good I am forced to agree. If I was judging these outside of their connection to their games I would probably have it on my list as well, heh,

Super fun guys and some really good sound tracks! I'm partial to Super Mario RPG myself and Kefka's theme from Final Fantast 3/6!

Obviously the only missing addition is the Chemical Zone theme from Sonic the Hedgehog 2. :P

Great job and looking forward to the next episode!

Thanks @pixelbites Yeah, Sonic woulda been a solid addition...I'm the old school one, that omission is on me, heh.

Honestly, I don't know how you guys narrowed it down. Picking just 10 themes out of the hundreds of excellent game soundtracks new and old is not an easy task. I know I'd forget a few that I'd leave off my top 10 and I'd end up hitting myself later once I remembered them. :)

It was basically just brainstorming the first ones that came to mind and then stopping once I hit 10 :D

I did end up having to swap a few of them out after I looked at my first list and was like "Quest 64? WTH was I thinking?!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93