This nature's cathedral (original poetry & photos)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

This Nature's Cathedral

original poetry & photos
with reading


t-nature-cathedral-thumbnail.jpg


t-nature-cathedral-thumbnail 3.jpg

Check out the recording of
me reciting "This Nature's Cathedral"
at the @dsound links below:

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


t-nature-cathedral-thumbnail 2.jpg


I.


Twirling bark tendrils
—One could imagine them
Fluttering, faerielike—
Consorting with moss giants
And fiery pterodactyls
Teasing the edge of
Otherworldly portals.

This place is a petrified throne
And a courthouse of humidity;
It is an elven palace &
Primordial storefront.

Stripling marble
Armored by lichen
Faithfully recounting tales
Of gemlike ancestry &
Functioning as an urn
For deceased stars.

Spread my colored ashes
By air balloon into the edge of space;
Put my pulselike verse on a platter
And, warm or cold, serve to extraterrestrials.

Shatter bark & black-red leaves,
Centuries inside a smooth skull
Of dirt packed tight to
Protect earth's dendrites.

II.


Folio of the account
Of time's incompetence
& the triumph of eternity.

Page of crinkled eyesores,
Trophies, this is a badge of joy
For heroes, this is consolation
For the broken in their despair.

Rumination of the flame of seasons,
The lives entwined denatured slow
Processed, decomposed, combined:
This is the limitless romance of joy.

This is the ballerina's decrepit hindrance
Or the surrealist's eased departure.
Russian dolls folding dimension on dimension,
Bark is the launchpad & bizarre device
Of flight through this nature's cathedral.


nature-cathedral-seat.jpg


nature-cathedral-seat 3.jpg

Notes

Hey everyone! Hope this post finds you well. I wrote this poem a few days back (actually on the same day I created my Podcast #1) when I was at one of my favorite natural spots to repose and take in the fresh mountain air. The flat rock in the picture above was my seat as I was writing this poem. It was a little nook of to the side of the waterfall that I haven't sat in before and I quite liked it. I recorded the recitation on my iPhone 5 in that spot so you can hear some ambient noise of the water behind me. The photos were also taken on my iPhone. I hope you enjoy it and have a wonderful day!!

Wholeness,
@d-pend


nature-cathedral-seat 2.jpg

Recording links

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


nature-cathedral-seat 3.jpg


long-natures-cathedral.jpg


long-natures-cathedral 5.jpglong-natures-cathedral 6.jpg


Written & spoken
By @d-pend
3/3/18

Photos taken
on my iPhone 5.


long-natures-cathedral 4.jpglong-natures-cathedral 3.jpg


long-natures-cathedral 2.jpg


Sort:  

Hello @d-pend, you have your muse in that magical forest. They say that in the nature the elves walk, to see them only the eyes must be closed and the imagination does the rest of the work. Greetings. Ah, I proposed you as the best blogger in the contest sponsored by @tatjanastan. Your poetry is my inspiration.

Yes @corderosiete there is a magic in that place. I'm so honored by your words, thank you very much!

I must confess the post met me at the right time, cos of the time difference i couldn't sleep i was looking for something to get busy with fortunately for your post popped up on my wall. the red leaves actually beautify the place. I'm sure it's a place where one can sit and have a quite time and also to feel waterfalls cool breeze. the pictures are perfect and also go inline with poem. So sad i could not listen to it cos of poor server.

Hey @segunreus I'm glad it hit you at the right time! I have such nights as well from time to time. It's an amazing place. Thanks for trying to listen. It seems there are some recent issues with Dsound playing properly, which is too bad. I'm hoping it gets figured out soon. Thanks for checking out my post!

You always welcome....

Having time to psyche nature is one whole of thing expressed on this work. It true that nature entails a lot of message in the way things just lay like the stone you sat on(the cathedral). She is so blessed to have you understand her, I believe she is smiling back at you; oh look can you see her pretty dimples. 👏👏👏👏👏 @d-pend

You know what your biggest quality other than poetry is skillful usage of lens. Your photography gives pictorial description to your wording and make more soothing for the readers. If you collect top ten fans of your talent you would definitely find me on the top of the list. Yes, you are blessed with so many talents and i am so proud of you my spiritual brother Daniel <3

Wonderful efforts to capture the pictures and even more wonderful poem <3

Had to upvote. I was looking for photos of trees growing through rocks like this. These are gorgeous.

Thanks a lot @creativetruth! You're welcome to use them if you want. It's also a spot I go to a lot near me so I could go sometime and grab specific types of shots if you could describe what you're looking for.

You are too kind @d-pend. This month I have been researching ideas for the bonsai landscape scene I am going to make. Most of the rocks I'll be using look like basalt, similar to those in your photos. Anything that shows young and old trees growing up through the rocks or along hills is a helpful reference. I need to try to recreate nature, by making a believable scene. It is good for me to study how the rocks interlock and and angle through the earth to make an interesting landscape, and to see where the trees grow.

https://steemit.com/nature/@creativetruth/rock-hunt-treasure-trove-bonsai

https://steemit.com/bonsai/@creativetruth/developing-rock-landscape-ideas-for-seedlings-bonsai

In a couple weeks I'll be building with the materials I collected by adding clay-mud and small bonsai trees.

So cool! That gives me a good idea of what you're looking for (and also an excuse to go for some hiking/bouldering in one of my favorite places.) I'll drop you a comment once I do it. The reason why I'd go back is I only took a couple of shots for this post to show my direct surroundings while I wrote.

The great thing about your poetry is you are repetitive. You are different every time. Plus, you have failed to make me it reread it. Because of its beauty. Your photography is brilliant too. I can see where you get your inspiration from to write. This can be a great place to write. :)

Great poem to describe the nature that lead to reflection of our human lives. Moss and fungus can be found around even though they may need other living things. We are all need support some point in live regardless of our day job or in steemit which is my new passion! Just some thoughts! A little upvote for your work!

Hey @fun2learn! Thanks for sharing your thoughts :-D I'm glad to see you have a newfound passion in Steemit, it's a place many of us adore. I've met so many awesome people through the platform. I appreciate you checking out my work and for the support!

A beautiful location indeed, Daniel. I am not surprised it inspired such whimsical and wonder-filled imagery. It is so true that certain placed have energetic pulse and presence of their own, that certain places invoke a sense of magic. Were these taken on the west coast?

It's great how nature inspires one to write. The scenery and painted imageries would keep rubbing the mind with words begging to be sculptured to give the view a deserving appraisal.

It's even nicer how you voiced it. I like this part the most

This place is a petrified throne
And a courthouse of humidity;
It is an elven palace &
Primordial storefront.

This is an amazing poem and I love that you recorded yourself reciting the poem with the sound of the waterfall behind you!

Thank you @violetmed glad you liked it! It's a magical place :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50