Dumpster Burning - original song

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)



A pointless riot of drunk college kids broke out near our apartment back in 2002 when we were living near the University of Oregon campus in Eugene. I was visiting my sister in Portland and remember thinking it was very strange when I talked to @dillemma on the phone and found out that the dumpster outside our apartment complex had been set on fire and cars flipped over in a riot. A riot? What for? Oh just because a huge party got shut down and a bunch of drunk rich white kids decided to riot?

The cops showed up in riot gear with shields and tear gas and drunk kids actually engaged them, throwing rocks and bottles.

I wrote this song after returning home and inspecting the damage. The paint on the dumpster bubbled and dripped off. A few of the cars that parked on our street had plastic over broken windows.

We moved from campus to our current house in Springfield the following year. Campus was and is crazy.

Post cover image is a picture from a photoshoot for the band Telepathic Dumpster that I was in from 2005 - 2011 - that is me in the lower right doing a breakdance pose or something of the sort.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

You are such a Gentle Giant in a Jose Gonzalez kind of way. Thank you for saving this from the burning dumpster and sharing it, because it's beautiful.

Thanks man! Hey that is the biggest upvote I have ever given, I must have received my extra 200 SP delegation from the MAP contest! Woo hoo, six whole cents LOL Don't spend it all in one place

reminded me a bit of the film trash humpers , which is strangely addictive

Woah hadn't ran into that before. That looks... interesting? Just going to leave this link here for posterity:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trash_Humpers

its interesting for the first few minutes i was stunned then just sucked us all in we all just sat and watched mesmerized , still to this day i will say to my wife , make make it , don't fake it and she goes mad , it a sort of catch phrase from the film ,

I had to go looking through your blog to see why the 8 rep, honestly the post that got flagged I thought was pretty hilarious - you have a funny way with words. I introduced you to a dark power I know, he may be able to help you a little. Cheers - Carl

Great as usual but i couldn't get d-sound working, had to listen on the other link!

D-sound has been hit or miss for me, sometimes it opens, sometimes it doesn't. The source IPFS link has always worked for me though. I still like D-sound despite these foibles; it uploads and processes songs super fast and the user interface is actually surprisingly functional for something still in its infancy.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4500 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @beelzebub

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63