Keeping the Vampires At Bay - PLUS, DTUBE YOUR NATURAL MEDICINE TO WIN 10 SBD OF STEEM BASIC INCOME!!!

in #dsnapplus5 years ago (edited)


Whilst Wren and Ini from @mountainjewel are sowing their garlic, I'm harvesting mine - big babies this year! I'm breaking my Dtube fear because I think it's an AWESOME direction for Steemit and there's so much cool stuff coming out at the moment it's hard to keep up with.

It's up to all of us to keep that awesome ecosystem going and show the world how bloody awesome it is - @nathanmars is inspiring us to put up DSnaps (Dtube clips under a minute) which I find impossible because - um - you try talking about anything for a minute without going over the limit, lol! So this one's a DSnap Plus, which is a Dsnap that's longer than a minute - what? Ah, whatever you call it, I'm pretty pleaesd with myself for getting over my fear of being on camera, anyway, and it's thanks to all you awesome people that I might even show my face once a week. Or maybe a month. He he, who knows.

image.png

Wanna win Steem Basic Income? Offering 5 Steem from my personal account and 5 Steem from @naturalmedicine - that's ten entries - for the first TEN to post under the theme 'Natural Medicine'.

Guidelines:

  • Create a DTube Snap or Dsnap plus with the theme 'Natural Medicine' - it could be a plant you harvest, a yoga practice (@ignacioarreres is all over this one!). - Please make sure you use the Natural Medicine transparency and the tag #naturalmedicine as well as the relevant Dtube tags, and let me know you've done it, as I'd hate to miss it!
  • You must be a member of the Natural Medicine Discord group or be delegating to Natural Medicine to be in the running.
  • Looking for the transparency? It's pinned in the Nat Med Discord general chat. Come say hello!
    image.png

Benefits of Garlic - Apart from Keeping Vampires Away...

  • You're more likely to recover from a cold FASTER - over 60 percent faster - if you use garlic as a remedy.
  • You're over 60 percent LESS likely to get a cold or flu if you consume garlic every day
  • Garlic contains antioxidants that support the body's protective mechanisms against oxidative damage - so, that's good news for heart health and even dementia or Alzheimers
  • It helps fight infectious disease, so it can help you live longer
  • It can help with exercise induced fatigue - hence maybe why ancient cultures used it to enhance performance - a study found that people with heart disease who took garlic oil for 6 weeks had a 12% reduction in peak heart rate and better exercise capacity, so that's pretty amazing!
  • A study of employees in a car battery plant, where they're exposed to lead, found it reduced lead levels in the body by nearly 20 percent, and reduced clinical signs of toxicity, such as headaches and blood pressure!

Those long stringy things I'm holding in front of my face like a big green moustache? They're garlic scapes, and can be eaten fresh like spring onions or pickled (I'll post about this later in the week). They're awesome fried with butter and eaten with eggs. If you're thinking about growing garlic, just do it - it's an easy crop and one that gives, and gives, and gives.

Do you grow garlic?

Is garlic part of your natural medicine kit?

What's your favourite way to preserve it or consume it?

Will you join the Dtube ecosystem and video your natural medicine?

Oh, and if you missed the Natural Medicine video, here is in on Youtube - it makes me smile when I see all you amazing crew doing amazing things with natural medicine and healing, and I couldn't love you more than I love you this weekend!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

I've missed the garlic season this year and it's now too hot. I've planted some a month ago but it was already too late... sigh

Oh no that's definitely too late. Easter is planting time for us xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

You think you find it hard to be in front of a camera? Ditto. Having a lotta resistance to this...

Massively!!!!! I KNOW... honestly!!!! You know it freaks me out! But... do ya love me anyway??? Even if you have see me live?

Posted using Partiko Android

I've grown garlic for a few years, but this is the first year I've had scapes on them. At one point I used to wonder what everyone was on about when they talked about removing the scapes to get the garlic putting more energy into the bulbs. This year I've discovered the joys of having an extra harvest from them!

Yeah that's awesome!!!! It's cool that the bit we need to take off to give them more energy is actually something we can eat too. Pickling them was a revelation for me!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Your garlic looks awesome and I love the natural medicine blog here - awesome stuff my friend💚🌈🦋🍀🌴

Awesome..come hangout on the team with us! We love your stuff!

Posted using Partiko Android

very nice mama River ... love this a lot, especially with you wearing that cute hat and in the garlic. love love.

Aw, thanks, I actually got the hat from an op shop because I needed something HUGE to protect myself from the hot Aussie sun! Glad you love it, I love you!!! xxx

Yes yes yes yes yes!!!!! While you Harvest I sow!! Xoxoxo love it!!! I’m so glad you’re getting into the TUBE! Yes, let’s incentivize Nat med on DTUBE!! Resteemed 🙌🏼💚🌿

woo hoo!!! Love it!!! I tell you what it's easier to tube than it is to write!

Ini loves your accent by the way!! Impressed with those heads & I’ll have to try the thing for the chickens!! Great job on the vid! I’m so glad you didn’t overthink it because it was wonderful!! ❤️

Haha ta. Yes.. chopped garlic and ACV in their water ... really good to prevent respiratory problems. And chop up in winter mash with warm porridge...

Posted using Partiko Android

And what accent, I don't have one .. I just speak like a normal person bahahaha xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

You guys are harvesting garlic and @mountainjewel is planting it! Turns out the earth isn't flat!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahahaha sooo funny! We have proof!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Unless one of you is a government agent trying to cover up the fact that it is indeed flat...

We'll never know until Alex Jones gives us the full report...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ssssh... don't give away our cunning plan...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hubby is just telling me who Jones is lol..

Posted using Partiko Android

I love garlic, but never actually had the chance to grow it, but now I will definitely try it since I love gardening.
I love your incentive of #naturalmedicine and will definitely try to get my entry in it since I love natural medicine and learning more and more about it.

Oh awesome on both counts!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I tried three times the other day to make a video for dtube and screwed it up thrice! Can't figure out how to talk, so I'll keep trying 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Did you actually hear me crap on? Haha. You kinda gotta speak it first then film... practice in the car. It's an art that's for.sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

The wife would get a chuckle out of that!

I tried going over it in my head, then all the words came out mixed up. I'll try out loud next time. Thanks for the tip!

Posted using Partiko Android

The wife would get a chuckle out of that!

I tried going over it in my head, then all the words came out mixed up. I'll try out loud next time. Thanks for the tip!

Posted using Partiko Android

Practice on the chookies!!

Posted using Partiko Android

They're my biggest critics! Hahahahah

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yeah I bet they give you this wierd sideways look right??

Posted using Partiko Android

Love your scape moustache! :))

I've been using garlic scape pesto I made and froze to help fight off this sneezing cold I acquired.

Garlic's properties are best utilized when the cloves is pressed or chopped fine so the beneficial properties can blend. When this happens they are stabilized and can survive cooking. It takes about 10 minutes for this magic to happen, so I always press my garlic first so it can sit.

I learned this from Jo Robinson's book Eat Wild.

Because the scapes are chopped and not heated, it seems they retain the beneficial properties. I discovered this when I tried it for a mouth infection and it helped.

I long ago gave up on videos as my old computer/computor operator could not get them to upload/play. I am lucky if other peoples' play for me. So don't watch videos much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89