ADHD medication and the face of the new American generation (NSFW material included)

in #drugs7 years ago

First, some random facts about ADHD. Please, pay attention to the years.
weird.jpg
The number of American children 4-17 who've been diagnosed with ADHD increased 42% between 2003 and 2011.
The first national survey that asked parents about ADHD was completed in 1997. Since that time, there has been a clear upward trend in national estimates of parent-reported ADHD diagnoses. The number of FDA-approved ADHD medications increased noticeably since the 1990s, after the introduction of long-acting formulations. Information taken from CDC

  • 5.1 million children (8.8% or 1 in 11 of this age group 4-17 years) have a current diagnosis of ADHD. Data from the National Survey of Children’s Health 2003 to 2011.
    Sales of stimulants to treat A.D.H.D. have more than doubled to $9 billion in 2012 from $4 billion in 2007. Stimulants like Ritalin or Adderall can lead to addiction, anxiety and occasionally psychosis. Article from The New York Times
    The children mentioned in the above studies have obviously grown up by now. Some are in college.
    weird3.jpg

They are the American young generation.

The question I'm asking myself – Is it possible that what we are seeing today on US campuses or in the streets is a side-effect of the extensive use of stimulants in the past 15 years? Think back to all the photos and videos you've seen in the past 12 months. How many times have you thought to yourself the people in those pics and videos are not normal? The freaks you cannot possibly tell whether they're male or female, the screeching protesters displaying what can only be called a feral behavior? Do you remember seeing anything similar 10 or 20 years ago? I don't.
weird5.jpg
weird4.jpg
Why is it that they can only be found in the US? Why not in France? Maybe because while in the US 9% of kids were diagnosed with ADHD and put on medication, in France only 0.5% of kids were given the same diagnostic and offered counseling and behavioral therapy? No years and years of taking addictive mind-altering drugs.
weird7.jpg
I leave you with some disturbing videos, NSFW, not safe if children are around.

The genderless alien

The screaming protester

The eco-sexuals

Thanks for reading

rebecca-516397.gif

Sort:  

I was a ritalin child myself , but had to quit cold turkey when the rush became too much . My family doctor at the time advised against me going off the ritalin in such a way , but ; i couldnt handle being stoned all the time . I took ritalin for 6 years from 7-13 being 34 now i still have the occasional craving . I will never give that stuff to my child in any form , at the same time i dont blame my parents , because thats what the doctor had thought best for me and my filks only wanted just that . Thanks for the wicked post Rebecca !

A hundred years from now we'll look back on Ritalin like we currently look back on lobotomies.

Definatly , im one of the lucky ones that was able to decide for myself to get off the stuff , some arent so lucky and are forced to stay on it , or ; will be kicked out of school . Ritalin and the likes should not be handed out to every child that has a bad day . In fact it is an amphetamine and is so addictive that i shouldnt be given to anyone .

Certainly shouldn't be forced on anyone. I worry that parents put too much trust in 'experts', and don't listen to that little voice. You know the one.
"Don't give children amphetamines", it whispers.

It's chemicals, diet, social programming into cultural Marxism.

#Agenda2030

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ladyrebecca to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Sorry in advance. I think this is gonna be a long one.

Point one. Parenting has become a job. Motherhood is a profession. Internet mommies who make sure their babies are in bamboo diapers, read every article and book about being a mother, buy the best toys, and fight for their rights etc. but forget that kids grow up and need obligations too. Basically, we are raising them to stay stupid, dependant and a child. A child is a sacred animal now. He/she has rights and undevoted attention. He needs to be busy and occupied 24/7. He even has playdates set. Playdates. A Birthday party is not just some cake and a gift here and there. No. The kid has to invite the whole class and the parents have to hire a gym and ofc some motivators/instructors to keep the party going. What happened with free play in the dirt? :D

Point two. Health care is a milking cow. 20 years ago the common diagnose was schizophrenia. It was in fashion...then followed ADHD and now the most common one and in fashion is Autism (here). Here at age 3, the kid gets tested at the shrink for any mental development issues. I can speak from first-hand a 6-year-old could not sit still for 2h so she started playing with the chair and ofc, that made sounds etc. What do you think the doc wrote on paper? :D Signs of hyperactivity and hypersensitivity. :) Now tell me honestly. Can you sit still for 2h? I sure can't. I start doodling or crossing my legs etc.

Point 3. I am 100% sure if I was born now I would be labeled as autistic. I had issues with communication, I did not make any eye contact, I was withdrawn, I had issues with food structures, clothes textures and as you know I show signs of OCD. I like structure. Lucky for me I was born 34 years ago and was simply labeled as a "shy child" and was never treated. Now think...are those numbers truly realistic? OR is the system just quicker to label shit to make some moneyz? I mean...do 3-year-olds really need a mental checkup?

Point 4. Maybe it has nothing to do with point 1 or 2 or 3. It is a cycle. When I was a teen we had Punk. It was a movement and it died away. They were the terror to some with spiked hair, tattoos, and attitude. Then came the Rave and they had sparkly, flashed clothes, extremely high boots etc. and it too died away. Then to the horror of all older generations - metrosexuals came along etc. Maybe we are that older generation now. The question is what will come up in 10 years? Read point 1 again and guess. :) A new label, new medicine, and a new movement.

As usually a great post! And sorry again. :)

I was wondering myself if it's not just the fact that I'm too old and don't understand young people. Fortunately, here young people look still normal, well, the normal selfie-obsessed teens, but that I do understand that as a fashion.
Thank you for the insight on children, you see way more than I do. Unfortunately, what was happening in the US 15 years ago is happening here, in Europe, and the bad guys are now pushing their pills on the kids in our countries. Interesting that autism is in fashion where you live..here we're dealing mostly with the "ADHD epidemic".

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

We live in a drug addicted cult!

this one line puts so many things into perspective for me

the old greek philosophers still knew the proverb: Listen to both sides
Today this is nearly forgotten.
Only for those who remenber - this link:
http://www.naturalnews.com/040938_ADHD_fictitious_disease_psychiatry.html
read in full length

I would wager a guess thats simply more of a cyclical occurrence combined with the advent of the internet/social media era. In the 60's there were massive protests, riots, and woodstock. In the 70's domestic terrorism swept the nation and there were thousands of bombings etc.
I'm not saying the behavior isn't strange, but I think it is more of a result of social media and the internet which have had an impact on virtually everyone in the US as opposed to a prescription drug that a relatively small number of people took.
Either way its definitely an interesting topic!

We have social media and Internet here in Europe too and you don't see that many weird people here...Thanks for stopping by!

ty for shereing get voted can vote to me here https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@minasmsm/bituniverse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44