Drug War Stupidity: Anti-Drug Misinformation

in #drug6 years ago

20180213_192044 (1) s.jpg
In the United States, just about every school aged child is forced to sit through a plethora of anti-drug classes and presentations. These classes are deeply flawed and peddle little more than lies and half-truths. The goal of these classes is to prevent drug use and thus the "harm" associated with it but their method does far more damage than good and, in fact, increase the potential for harm.

The most important thing a person can do before trying a drug is educate themselves on its effects, potential risks and rewards. We know that these classes do not prevent drug use and, as a result of their dishonesty, the kids go on to try various drugs without the valuable safety information that they need. The problem is that these classes base their "lessons" on the false premise that all drug use is bad. This prevents them from teaching things like testing for purity which could be life saving in some cases; the students never learn they should only buy from trusted sources or that they should only use certain drugs in certain places. They, instead, try to scare the students (a tactic that does not work) and, in doing so, they rob them of the knowledge to make informed decisions.

photo-1517686039693-7f0984c55fa0.jpg

These classes use lies to accomplish their goal and, in the process, they destroy their own credibility which discredits everything they teach and leads kids and teens to make bad decisions. These "educators" tell young people things like "marijuana is addictive," "people smoke LSD," and "psychedelics will cause permanent madness" (I was told all of these things when I was in school). The idea is that it is okay to lie if it stops people from using drugs but this is false. We know that these classes do not stop drug use. Further, these kids go on to discover that marijuana doesn't turn them into addicts and that the LSD that they didn't smoke did not drive them insane. They will then, naturally, assume that everything they were told about drugs was a lie and they may go on to do things that actually carry real dangers as a result. This is how overdoses happen, this is how people get addicted to crack and it is the fault of their poor education. If one wants to reduce the potential for harm from drug use, they must be honest. They must tell these kids that marijuana and mushrooms probably won't hurt them but heroin might, they must treat them like people who can make their own decisions (because they are), and teach them to understand the risks before they choose to do anything (drugs or otherwise). If you prove yourself to be a lair once, no one will ever believe you again.

photo-1496189713555-6f47ff6b27e8.jpg

I, for the record, think all drugs should be legal even though I would discourage people from using many of them (cannabis and psychedelics and a few other things are fine, in my opinion, but I have met real crackheads and theirs does not seem like it would be a fun lifestyle). However, how one feels about drug use should not matter in regards to this issue. There is good reason for everyone to support teaching accurate information about drugs. If you think all drugs are great for everyone, then you should want people to understand their potential benefits. If, on the other hand, you hate drugs and want to make sure no one is harmed by them, you should want to do the thing that reduces their harm the most. As with most things in life, the majority of people fall somewhere in the middle.

The poet, Milton, once wrote (I am paraphrasing, badly) that Truth is strong next to the Almighty and that she grapples with Falsehood. This is Milton's flowery way of saying that lies cannot stand before the truth. If our society insists on teaching children about drugs, then they must embrace the truth or be doomed to watch as their lies are slain by it and the children fall as casualties of their battle.

Peace.

This was part of a continuing series of brief posts that are intended to highlight some of the dumber aspects of the drug war. If you liked this post feel free to check out my page for more similar content.

With the exception of the first (which is my own photograph), all the images in this post are taken from the free image website unsplash.com.

Sort:  

Resteemed your post to my 1,610+ active followers. To get free resteem follow @anupbose

Amen! After a medical battle, my parents have finally realized how good Cannabis can be for people! I wish the dis-information would stop finally!

It is getting a little better but there is still a long way to go.

We have discussed this topic forever at psy festivals with crews from all over the Earth. And the general strong concensus is that when push comes to shove mushrooms may be the only thing that has an actual potential to 'save' humanity. By showing people what they are doing. On bad days I tend to remember that more than anything.

another danger about teaching kids the prohibition way is that "insider information" on legal alternatives quickly makes the rounds. So kids wanting to try out substances may instead manage to buy a bottle of cough syrup and down it, thinking it to be perfectly alright because of the "legality" label.

Excellent article. Excited to read the rest of your series.
Peace

Thank you.

Mushrooms are the best.

Yeah I didn't think about that but I did know a bunch of people that would drink cough syrup for the DXM in it. Some who huffed that duster stuff too. All that stuff is way worse than most illegal drugs even the ones that most people consider to be very "bad." They are probably better off smoking crack than huffing paint, I think anyway.

I wonder if the industry ever calculates those customers into their annual sales analysis and target group forecast ;)
Seriously.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Wachagan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been resteemed to 6350+ followers and 100% upvoted by @talhadogan
This post has been Upvoted by 45+ Accounts
Thank you for using my resteem and upvote service!


TO USE THE BOT
Send 0.500 SBD or 0.500 STEEM to @talhadogan (URL as memo)


Resteemed to over 15700 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

Glad you are speaking up on this topic. I believe the war on drugs has some nasty side effects and it’s time we take a hard look at it.

Thank you. That's true.

A lot of people talk about incarceration rates and stuff like that but I kind of want to also point out some of the ignored parts of the drug war with these posts because that stuff is harmful too. I went through more than my fair share of bad drug classes (quite a few bad sex education classes too lol) so I know how it plays out. The people who didn't do their research first had some bad outcomes for the reasons that I wrote about in the post. I was lucky to have discovered erowid.org when I was a teenager. It really is a great resource for accurate and non-politicized information on drugs.

Sent a boost to this post using bestboom, I was wondering why it hadn’t kicked in yet and looks like you did as well?

Wow thank you but I use that bot some times and I did use it for this post. I really appreciate the thought. If you lost the .5 I can reimburse you for the loss if they don't refund (I'm not sure of their policy).

No worries, just hoping I didn’t mess up the bot

Found a different way to help

Cool thank you. I really appreciate it.

You sure?

I think it came through I saw I got a pretty big upvote. That one usually takes about an hour or two. I have also tried hugo4u its fast but its expensive (for me anyway). I hate to use bots at all but they do help. I get quite a few more upvotes if I use them so I do. Some seem better than others though. xtdevelopment or whatever it is very friendly to small accounts if you are under 52 reputation it is only 0.001 to resteem your own work.

Thank you again though.

Might have worked, not sure how but I got you an upvote through minnowsupport. I find you have to use bots or resteems until you get your rep up. To easy to go unnoticed around here.

True. I write movie reviews sometimes and I know a guy in that community who write some good stuff and make nothing on it.

I think I saw that upvote. Thank you for this stuff and for reading.

The drug war has killed more people than drug have. SAVE LIVES LEGALIZE! Keep on sir! Life is good.

Nice post. Doesn't look like you are getting the votes you deserve though. You should check out steemengine.

Hello artisticscreech!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70