VALIDATION ~ Drop in the Ocean

in #dropintheocean5 years ago

When you let fear go and stop looking for approval or any sort of validation of your work or actions, you allow your creativity to bloom. As humans, we are prone to experience the fear of being misunderstood, rejection or standing out.

We strive for acknowledgment and sometimes this quest leads to despair. Feeling invisible takes you through a cycle of pain that could easily be avoided by simply giving up on validation.

When you step out of the darkness and embrace the light, your inner soul unleashes its creative powers and enables you to deliver far more. Our bodies long to create, thus we shouldn’t wait for anyone’s approval in order to express ourselves through different mediums. Yes, encouragement would help, but let’s not turn it into a decisive factor! The force that drives us to create goes beyond the meaning of words and the validation from others.

Don’t wait for the sun to shine on your street, move somewhere else! Continue to have the creative juices flowing without relying on others broken souls to connect with your artworks. Don’t look for redemption anywhere else but within yourself!

Just think for a second how many poems, songs, paintings, sculptures or any other form of art would not have seen the light of the day if the creator would have totally relied on others' validation. We may not have laid our eyes on some brilliant artworks. Amazing heartfelt songs would have fallen on deaf years if the composers would have given up writing because of the lack of validation.

Deep down into our core, we all have this unspoken beauty and incredible strength that we tend to overlook. How many of your dreams you let go because you didn’t get the approval, support and love you needed? The only validation that is worth pursuing is your own. Thus stop looking for it outside yourself and follow your own journey!

Image source

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself. If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

You are right of course, however sometimes the validation is needed in the beginning to gain the confidence to plough ahead with creativity. For example I would not have followed my passion that I have found for photography without the support from other steemians here who have enjoyed my work and made me want to learn more about it! But yes I agree, if you strive for approval, you will never be fully free to express yourself without bounds :D Great topic and post! You have me thinking now haha
BB

It certainly helps to get it in any stage of the process, especially in the beginning, though it is not always the case.

You make some really great points, ones I used to really struggle with. I used to wait on people’s approval and validation for certain things because I lacked confidence and surety of myself. I’ve come a long way. Though validation and approval feels great, I no longer wait around for it. If I get it it’s just a bonus ;)

This is a really great post and very encouraging for those that may be struggling with this.

Nice to see you here! Happy holidays!

Thank you! Happy Holidays to you as well ~ 😊

Hi @lymepoet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.677 which ranks you at #5286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 5293).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #133.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

In life creativity and uniqueness makes it exciting otherwise we would all be bored, it's better to stand out rather than stand behind.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said! Standing out is always better !

A nice little kick in the arse for anyone who complains about not receiving validation. It is a dangerous road as the spiral into oblivion and thinks that validation from others will be their saving grace. It helps sure and as an artist or creator, there is a point that you need to ask "Is it me?" If you can then honestly say no, I believe what I am doing is what I should be doing then stick it out, now if your livelihood depends on it then sure look after your livelihood but don't completely disregard your true passion. Maybe it is just timing.

Many people lose the convictions due to the lack of validation. Timing plays an important role as well. I would say that in your youth you are more daring and care less about it. Then it is followed by a period of self-doubt and constant need of approval which would pass once you reach your mid 30's and realize that you wasted a decade looking for something you may never get.

True, even with reading great insights like this we all will still have to experience a lot of this ourselves. It would have been nice to have this comment when presenting your post. Then I could have done it more justice. I always like your more critical look at things based on actual experience.

I sort of agree and don't agree. It's a fine line, I think. I don't think I NEED external validation but I like it when validation occurs. It doesn't stop me, if I don't get it. I enjoy writing too much, but.. I will admit to smiling more, after the fact, when someone chooses to engage with my thoughts and words by commenting.

So you are right, it isn't something to seek but it sure is nice to find.

When it occurs, it does stroke one's ego, no doubt about that. However, it is not the main goal. Thank you for stopping by!

Fantastic point! We tend to rely too much on how others see us, rather than being confident in our own uniqueness.
Great post!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 344 (12/18/18)

Everything from within, THEN observe the external.

Solid post.

Namaste, Jaichai

Thanks for the read!

Agreed Agreed
I keep telling myself this and am currently weighing the pros and cons of certain ideas I want to execute
But it should really be how I feel about it and if I believe in it enough to go ahead
Deep Breath
Thank you @lymepoet...
Merry Christmas to you and yours <3

Thank you! Same to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59