We’re Really Nice, But… – Drop in the Ocean – Tolerate

in #dropintheocean5 years ago

We’re Really Nice, But…

There’s quite a lot of sometimes nasty debate, over what others say we should tolerate. But who has such authoritative power, they’ll make me hold my tongue, so I’ll want to cower? I don’t really need someone watching my language, and correct me when you think that I cross some line. You may not like what I say, but I’ll say it anyway, and if you’re gonna freak out, well, that’s your design.

You: “What he/she said is intolerant! He/she must be destroyed completely!”

You’re intolerant of a word, sentence or opinion uttered. It’s obvious that you have absolutely no respect for the speaker, since you think that whatever his intolerant word/sentence/opinion is, a retaliatory attack is called for, with character assassination at the very least, as we always hope that language like “destroy” isn’t taken literally. It’s also obvious that he’s said something that’s specifically intolerable to you. Or is it?

What happens if you find out that someone you like and respect, said basically the same thing in the past, and therefore disagrees with your current intolerance of the same word or words?

Before social media and, (in this case I’m about to bring up), especially before Twitter existed, if we went and stood on a street corner and said the same thing about someone to people passing by, most of the passers-by would likely shrug their shoulders, walk on, and probably think you’re a little weird.

But that won’t cut it these days. Nope, now it’s a movement, regardless of how immature or just plain dumb it is, some organizers on Twitter will manage to convince a flock of equally intelligent sheep to back the destruction of someone. Not because they’ve been proven to be intolerant, (which isn’t against the law in any “free” countries by the way), but because a bunch of nitwits on Twitter say they are.


It’s a very clever thing really, that Twitter. It’s quite a remarkable tool for creating doubt, for obfuscation of facts and for advancing certain one-sided narratives being ordered by those running Twitter, intentionally. Maybe we should be a bit less tolerant of services like Twitter, when they are silently but covertly aiding in the division of the masses through manipulation.

Before social media, if I used the word tolerate at all, I used it in speech concerning food, mostly. Even now it’s not a word that I regularly use, which some tweeter would likely say is because I’m intolerant of something or someone, and definitely NOT because I’m able to form my own opinions.

“Dangerous” opinions will likely be one of the next speech classes to be condemned and will face word-reassignment initiatives that will approve or outlaw them so that we can “advance” as a species some more.

Take corned beef for example. I’ve never been able to tolerate the taste of corned beef, and I am half-Irish by heritage. The reason I can’t tolerate it is because it tastes horrible to my uniquely installed set of taste buds. But believe it or not, when I say that I can’t stand (or tolerate) corned-beef, several people will say something like, “Oh man, you don’t know what you’re missing,” even though I clearly do know.

It doesn’t matter that “just trying” corned-beef gave me an absolute surety that I don’t like it at all, (and in fact I hate it), or that I gave in at least two other times later in my life, and the result was no less disgusting than the first time, many years ago. I actually AM intolerant when it comes to corned-beef. It’s not an opinion. If I forced myself to eat it, I would throw up. It would affect me physically.

I like cucumber sandwiches, either with some salt and pepper or with salad dressing. I’ve liked them since I was a little kid. I saw my mother eat one, and that’s how I got started. Back then I also liked ketchup sandwiches. I don’t eat ketchup sandwiches anymore.

I’ve been laughed at when I’ve talked about my love of cucumber and ketchup sandwiches at different points in my life, but I’ve never thought of anyone laughing as being intolerant. But today, I could start a Twitter account, and within a short time literally have hundreds of fans who agree with me and say that those laughing at me were mean and intolerant, and then start a “movement” and a twitter-mob.

At any time in history before now, you’d be laughed at and called insane if you suggested that a “movement” as I just outlined in the last paragraph, could be formed in a short time, if at all. But we all know it’s very possible to do this today.

The word, now more than ever, focuses on the concoction of some imagined “right” which we have, (well, some of us have), which empowers us to have our way, whatever that may be, up to and including destruction of anyone or anything that we cannot tolerate, regardless of how petty our reactions may seem to those who dare to be intolerant of us.

We’re Really Nice, But… © free-reign 2019


Sources for images used in this post:

Corned Beef Sandwich: Image by afridayinapril from Pixabay
Tug of War: Image by DarkCordial from Pixabay
Smiley: Image by Christian Dorn from Pixabay

If you’d like to write for Drop in the Ocean, write a post about the word of the week, and if you like, you can also attend the online show on Mondays at 7PM – UTC, when posts are presented for discussion. Visit Buddy Up’s discord server at https://discord.gg/3d5H3K8 if you’d like more information, and/or for attending Monday’s show.


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thank you PHC and jaynie!

I hear you and feel I’m very tolerant these days, except for what is going on in the White House!

Since we still have free speech, I sometimes express my opinion about our so-called President. I find that most Trump supporters are very intolerant of my opinion. So I’m forced to tolerate their ignorance(tongue in cheek)! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

We must ensure that we never lose our freedom of speech or allow our constitution to be compromised in any way. If that ever happens, the world will be a sad place. I think corporate power taking over globally is the biggest threat facing us and our freedom today.

Oops! I accidentally upvoted my own comment! Now I upvoted yours.

You are so right! When I see things like the Bush family buying a huge aquifer in Paraguay, it is like handwriting on the wall. But, most Americans aren’t paying much attention to that, because they would rather argue with each other on social media.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Daddy Bush is implicated in JFK's assassination.

Wow 😮! I had not heard that before!!!

This post has been promoted with @minnowbooster.
5% of the purchase will be burned and 5% sent to the @steem.dao fund as part of our ethical promotion initiative.
For further information please check this post.

Urrgh the movements are so irritating always messing up my feed for what they think is right. Even if it may be right they are just empty tins that need crushing. Once that is solved then the actual problem may also be taken care of. It might just need to become a case of getting rid of the "perpertrator" since well that will make the sensitive buttholes happy and get rid of those who were intolerant of them the one who reported.

I have not really had any issues with what I can say but I also suspect I have no followers :) When it comes to intolerant then I do not think any form of speech should be classified as such no matter how vile. It will help keep things more open, can always keep tabs on those racist homophobic religious scum and given they can say what they want you can frame just about anything on them since they would have said something along the lines anyhow and they will say something if an event occurs ;) !tipuvote 2

I ended up with some time this morning, and once I saw there were 2 posts in DITO for tolerate, I decided to write. A pretty easy word to write about, especially if there's no one looking over my shoulder telling me every 2 seconds that what I'm writing may not be tolerable! Thanks for the tip!

This post is supported by @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Congratulations @free-reign! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Don't like corned beef?!!!!!!!!!!!!

But I've tried to like it 3 different times, so give me some credit! :)

Oh! I think that you are intolerant of corned-beef hahaha.
See why I don't have Twitter?
People force their own ways upon others via character assassination and they are fond of using words such as "fundamental", "traditionalist" and "conservative" to demean those that do not agree with their views, but I have turned that around to wear their "insulting" words as badges of honor!
A great post here my friend!
Blessings!

Oh yes, it's been a while since the last time I tried it, so just the thought of it doesn't make me queasy now, like it has done soon after, when I can recall that hideous flavor more clearly. I have actually never tasted anything that gives me such a negative reaction.

The only way I could see possibly ever liking it, would be if I was starving to death and someone put a plate of it in front of me. My taste buds probably wouldn't be so annoyed and picky in that scenario. It's happened before, but nothing has ever tasted as bad to me as corned beef! Haha!

Blessings to you!

Well then Let us pray that the day never arrives that you will be starving to death my friend hahaha
Maybe just the thought would motivate you to work harder hahaha
If ever you give me any drama, I will simply send you a tin of the stuff hahaha (my secret weapon) Lol
Blessings!

I really feel awkward on some social media stunt/prank or whatever it is. It feels like I'm from another world and I don't exist. But do I? No, but nobody counts us. People are becoming attention seekers and sick as hell. :(

Yes! Anyone who has even a bit of personality and wants to put in the effort, can probably get a little following going and then work it until they get enough attention that they start believing they're stars.

A relatively short time ago that wasn't at all possible unless a talent agent happened to "discover" them, which was about as likely as winning the lottery.

Howdy sir free-reign! Well said, it's a big problem that we never would have believed just ten years ago! It's reached the point of insanity where people actually want to kill you if you don't line up with their beliefs.

I think we're teetering on the brink of civil war, and not only here in America. There is unrest and there are protests in other countries too, as the people attempt to clean things up in their governments. It's an exciting but scary world right now. Its up to us to get things right here in America first, that much is clear.

Howdy today sir free-reign! I agree, a big challenge but one that needs to be done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81