Details of an oil painting in progress; optical greys

fuschia.jpg

hollyhock.jpg

Here are a couple of details of my painting currently in progress. Those who know how oil glazes work will note the optical greys. Optical greys are thin veils of white which are placed in between layers of glazing color. By scumbling (bringing up whites) in between glazes a painting can be glazed time after time without losing intensity of color. Color can be enriched and refined ad infinitum with this method.

The greys are called optical because there is no actual grey; the painting looks greyish when you put on a veil of transparent white.

Of course, the whites must be completely dry before glazing again, and I use more emulsion than medium to apply them to avoid excessive oil build-up.

When the glazed areas (the flowers) dry, I will once again scumble, let the whites dry, and glaze again.

Glazing this way is time consuming, but I believe the effort is worth the result.

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 89%.

Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

-Quality, technique and aesthetics of photography (Good framing, good focus, sufficient brightness, adjusted to what the photograph intends to express.)
-Adaptation and relationship with the general theme raised (clearly reflects the proposed theme)
-Capacity of the composition (causes sensations, emotions)

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 7000 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. Follow me on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. Join facebook group

Σ$$$ Tipped @kathleenscarboro Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.083 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.08 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

beautiful, @kathleenscarboro ! the colours are very vivacious and the petals are made so prettily! the text is amazing and interesting as well :> i wish i can try oils one day and apply this optical grey technique :D

Thank you @veryspider. Optical greys were a great discovery for me! Before understanding them, I couldn't get the rich surface and color that I was looking for. It was my teacher who explained to me how they work and how to apply them.

abstract and interesting ^^
my favorite is the first one <3
also, thanks for the explanation about the optical gray, soon i will have to work with oil paintings, maybe it will be of help ^^
do you have any other recommendation?

Glad you like it. The other thing that my be of use to you is that I always plan color very seriously, and it does not necessarily follow the contours of the objects. I establish a color scheme and distribute colors until as a color abstraction I feel it has power.

I love your works. Did I say?

Perhaps, but it is always nice to hear.

Beautiful! I always look forward to see new postings of your work.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Lovely and I am glad you are sharing a WIP.

It is very worth the effort as the vibrancy of colour really shines through when you do this and I think the final work always has a depth you can feel when viewing it IRL.

And as always I love your colour. I love colour but am finding myself using black a lot lately in my singularity pieces, but mainly for mood and to heighten my love of colour.

As always it's a pleasure to see your work Mam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52