DIY quadcopter - my first flight!

in #drone6 years ago

IMG_20180623_181608.jpg

At the beginning I want to apologize you for such a great break from articles, but there was the end of the school year in Poland, and I had to pay more attention to my exams. Now I have a long holidays, so I hope I will find time to be more active on my Steemit account :)

Why I decided to build my own drone instead of just buying a finished product?

First of all, I prefer to have full control over the parts that have been used. I have no doubts, that the products I use meet the quality I expect. Due to that I can fully trust my machine when I am in the air. Secondly I can have full control over my drone parameters. Need more lifting capacity? No problem, just get a stronger motors. When you buy a finished product, you have to agree to the manufacturer's decisions. Thirdly, I precisely know how my drone is built, so in the case of any crash I will not have problems with repair. Additionally, building something on you own gives a lot of satisfaction!

IMG_20180430_115752.jpg

My quad is rather a large machine, designed for lifting the gimbal with camera and capturing beautiful landscapes. Its lifting capacity is 1.5 kg and flight time is about 22 minutes (without load) so it gives a lot of use possibilities.

Today, I finally managed to end my quadcopter construction and I went to a nearby park to test it out. It generally performs as it should, but there was very windy today, so the quad was a bit vicious, as you can see in a film:

Thanks for reading!

My quad configuration:
Flight controller - APM 2.8 + GPS Ublox M8N
Frame - S500 PCB
Motors - Emax Mt2213
ESC - HobbyKing 20A UBEC
Battery - MultiStar 5200mAh 3S 10C

Sort:  

Congrats on your build! I'm facinated by that. As a newbie, I like some of the automations built into the Mavic Pro to help make learning to fly easier, but can see how the freedom of your own and no programmed limits could be much better.
I ran into that this weekend I was filming some rock climbers, but could barely make it level with the top of the canyon wall they were climbing due to the Mavic Height limits... I really needed to go just another 50 feet or so higher to get the best shot.

Thank you! Finished drones are better for beginners or people who treat them only as a tool for making films. If you are really fascinated, moment when you want to break manufacturer's decision will come sooner or later. I highly recommend building your own copter :)

Finally you're back @neavvy

But instead of creating some super-ultra-amazing post about crypto you're terrorizing us with dron related topic. I cannot express how stresful those drons are making me feel. Within few years all of them will be so small, so hard to spot and will start replacing CCTV. In addition to growing AI ... I can easily imagine entire populations being controlled by thousands of drons controlled by AI.

Anyway Im glad you're having fun :) Great to have you back buddy

Big fat upvote on the way @neavvy

ps.
I just launched my first sponsored writting contest related to crypto and blockchain. Check out my latest post if you have a minute and participate if you can :)

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31