My Oldest Childhood Dream: The Lawyer Who Never Lost A Case

in #dreamscometrue7 years ago (edited)

law-1063249__480.jpg
Image source

When I was going through @jo5h’s blog and saw the Challenge "Let's Make Dreams Come True" organised by @senorcoconut, I had an instant recollection of several dreams I had pursued when I was very young. The oldest and strongest of them all was the dream of becoming a lawyer, a lawyer who never lost a case.

My father wanted me to be a medical doctor. Not just my father, my uncle (who is a medical doctor) and my mother also wanted the same thing. I had fairly good grades in school, the medical profession was quite lucrative and they were ready to sponsor me. Everything was set; I only had to attend classes and excel in college.

While they concocted their plans for my own life, I was immersed in the legal world. At a tender age, I watched movies where lawyers exuded so much passion and intelligence; so much it began to interest me. They would use high sounding words, appeal to arguments that took me a while to understand and carried themselves with impeccable carriage. (I would later learn that not all lawyers are like that in real life.)

This dream started when I was around 6 years old and was in primary four. I would pretend I was a lawyer in school and tried to reproduce what I watched in movies. During debates in school, I was a ready choice as chief speaker. It didn’t matter if I was to speak for or against, I always put up a good performance.

All these while, my parents and uncle still held on to their dreams while I lived in the fantasy of mine. Secondary school helped decide in my favour. When I was done with primary school, I moved on to the junior secondary school. There, I began to fall in love with the arts. Literature and English Language had more appeal to me than Integrated Science and Mathematics. It was only natural that I would excel in the art related subjects.

The moment of decision came when I began the senior secondary school. In the first term of the first year then, we were all required to take all of the subjects. I made straight A’s in English Language, Literature, Government and Religious Studies. My grades in science related courses were nothing to write home about. I remember having a score of 2 out of 40 in a Physics test. My grades were so poor my parents and uncle allowed me move to the arts without a struggle.

Three years later, when I began my application for entry into the university in 2010, I chose law as first choice and English Language and Literary Studies as second. This was when I was filling out the form for the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME). I had fallen in love with English Language as a course, particularly because I enjoyed reading stories and poems in English. My score in the UTME was 239 and I was expecting to be admitted for any of the two courses. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it for any of the courses.

So in 2013, I applied for the UTME a second time and chose Law as both first and second choices for two different universities, the University of Lagos for the former and Obafemi Awolowo University. I had a score of 221 and felt it was too poor for law so I changed my preferred course to English Language and Literary Studies for both universities.

After a series of event I do not want to get into here, I was admitted to read English Language in Obafemi Awolowo University. My parents and I were elated. My parents had bought into my dream of becoming a lawyer and expected that I would switch to law in my second law. Well, second year came and I remained in English language. I wasn’t ready for the major hassle. It is easier to switch from Law to English Language than English Language to Law.

Only two weeks ago, I completed my final exams and I’m currently working on my bachelor thesis. So I ended up studying English Language instead of Law. Looking back, there is no regret. Although I will never stand in court to argue cases, I have learnt so much in English Language. These days, I find my fulfilment in writing short stories, articles and poems. I also have interest in advertising and communication, particularly in the skilful use of language (verbal and non-verbal) to make people react in an expected manner.

If you look at it from a particular angle, I am the lawyer that never lost a case, because I’ve never had one. (Laughs) I’ve had most of my dreams come true and I’m grateful. Perhaps, I’ll return to the university for a second degree in Law, maybe not.

Thanks for reading

This is my entry for the "Let's Make Dreams Come True" challenge by @senorcoconut

Blessings

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

This post has just been resteemed by @eddy-18.

For a free resteem, click here
For more resteems, send 0.01 to @eddy-18 with post link as memo

This is not a bot service. Upvote this comment to support the service

Well that was a very enjoyable read. It always makes me happy when people realize that they do have dreams come true.

And no regrets for the lawyer who never loses shows that it was a dream that could have come true but obviously English language was more a passion you needed to chase!

Congtatulations on your exams, and never say never @iamthegray!

Thanks for reading through and for your kind words

Blessings

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34