It’s not just a cat / No es sólo una gata.

in #drawing6 years ago

I don’t pretend be a drawer, I just started drawing a few months ago like some sort of auto-therapy against anxiety. That’s Fran how was born, a character that might not be a pretty sight, but I do want to continue developing.

I’m from Venezuela but I’ve been living in Uruguay for a few years now. Obviously, I had to leave my family and friends in search of better life opportunities (same old story for Venezuelans). Among my loved ones are my cats, whom I miss every day. They all stayed under my mother’s care (she loves them as much as I do). 

A couple weeks ago I got news about one of my cats, La Negra. She got sick and died in very complex circumstances to explain. My mother and brother tried to save her, but they just couldn’t.   When one is away, losing someone is a curious thing: the sadness, the helplessness and the homesickness, all mixed under the stress of “having to keep going”.

When you are in a country where you know very few people, nobody knows a thing about your life before arriving, and few people are sympathetic with your pain, all of this carries a social burden hard to reverse, because, you know, “it’s just a cat”. 

I needed to experience my grieving process in a way that compensated the distance, so I decided to include La Negra to my auto-therapy and draw her out. Here is part of the process.

 Yo no pretendo ser dibujante, simplemente empecé a dibujar hace unos meses como una especie de auto-terapia contra la ansiedad. Así nació Fran, un personaje que quizás no sea muy agradable a la vista, pero que igual quiero seguir desarrollando.

Soy de Venezuela, pero vivo en Uruguay desde hace un par de años. Obviamente dejé atrás a mi familia y a mis amigos para buscar mejores oportunidades de vida (una historia ya muy común para los venezolanos). Entre mis seres queridos están mis gatos, a quienes extraño todos los días. Todos quedaron bajo el cuidado de mi madre (ella los ama tanto como yo).

Hace un par de semanas recibí la noticia de que una de mis gatas, La Negra, enfermó y murió en un contexto muy complejo de explicar. Mi madre y mi hermano trataron de salvarla pero no lo lograron.

En la distancia las pérdidas son curiosas: la tristeza, la impotencia y la nostalgia se mezclan bajo la imposición de que “hay que continuar”.

Estás en un país donde conoces muy poca gente, nadie sabe nada de tu vida antes de llegar y son pocos quienes se solidarizan con tu dolor. Todo esto lleva encima una carga social difícil de revertir, ustedes saben: “es sólo un gato”. 

Necesitaba vivir mi duelo de una forma que compensara la distancia, así que decidí incluir La Negra a mi auto-terapia y dibujarla. Aquí está parte del proceso.

![02.jpeg]() ![03.jpeg]() ![04.jpeg]() ![05.jpeg]()

Here is the finished drawing/ Aquí el dibujo terminado

![def 01.png]() ![def 02.png]()

A picture of her / Una foto de ella ![La negra.jpg]()

Thanks!

Sort:  

Nothing is impossible, the word itself says "I'm possible!"

Congratulations @zuhesaldana! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49