A collection of incomplete work

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)


I’m sure I’m not the only artist that has files of incomplete drawings/paintings that are collecting dust. I’m hoping that I’ll find the motivation to either start over or complete these sketches after I’ve made this post!

I’ve got an emotional connection to the first image because it shifted me into the style of drawing that I’m doing now. I started this portrait of GD when Procreate released a public beta before their big update. Months have flew by and I’m almost positive that I can draw the image better but I dislike going back to old work when I can easily create something new. 



I was going to do a study of the head and different shapes but I took the easy route and drew a face. I gave up after that and the rest of the page was left blank. I was able to draw knees a few days ago so heads must come next. If you don’t see a head perspective sketch from me in the next week then remind me, please!



I was thinking about dear @lonniedi and started sketching this baby elephant. I’m planning a solo trip to Chicago to see her in April and I’m planning on purchasing my tickets soon. I just have to sort out my expenses.



An adorable donkey because I love them. I visited a farm with @guthrie last fall and I began to realize how cute these fluff monsters are! If someone were to ask me what animal I’d want (if I had the land) then I’d say miniature donkey. 

I had a good pace going with this drawing but I got tired of penciling in the hair. I felt like I was being careless with my lines so I thought it would be best to take a break. I’m almost positive that I’ll go back to this.



I love fashion and a thought has been surfacing in my mind, telling me that if an item I seek is unavailable then I should just make it myself. 



I still lack the skill in translating my ideas into sketches. 



This is a portrait that I started the other day after playing Magic. I noticed that I got the outline and the rough sketch done fairly quickly. I enjoy drawing images of people/animals looking kinda grumpy...probably because that’s how my face rests naturally. 😅



Thanks for stopping by to view this collection of incomplete work.

Besides the last image, which image should I try to finish next? 🦊 

Sort:  

I would consider the first image complete, as it is simply perfect. But that look in the donkey's eyes is a yearning to be loved by your pencil.

I also like that ‘finished not perfect’ sketchy look so I’d kinda of consider the first image complete also. The donkey will affectionately receive my love. 😌

Good food photo,thanks for share.

that was good detail, i like the drawing

your welcom... keep doing your best

I dislike going back to old work when I can easily create something new.

This. Sooooo much this. I have PILES of papers with half-drawn sketches, or fully drawn sketches that need ink, or inked outlines that need color. It's actually really quite ridiculous. I'm sure I'll go back to some of them, but more often than not, I'd rather just make something new. 😅

The fluffy little donkey is looking adorable, but I'd love to see you finish that baby elephant!

PS. I also belong to the "resting bitch face" club... hahaha

And that’s why I switched over to digital. I’m terrible at keeping papers tidy and they end using getting ruined.

I’ll be doing the donkey first and then we shall see where I’m at with the cute baby elephant.

I get asked everyday if I’m “feeling okay” because of my face. Sometimes I’ll get asked if I’m hangry and then food is offered. I’m okay with that. 😝

I came across this page because of @artwatch.
Gosh! You are good in drawing too.. I'm so envy..... T^T

Thank yo and @artwatch is amazing. Keep practicing and the skill will follow with time.

Wow good job! You have so much skills <3

AAAAAAAH GD~ he is so edgy~ and cute :D i like your drawing of him * ___ *

do the last one and the fluffy donkey * ___ * so cute~

upvotes

Thank you!! I loooove GD. He’s perfect. He’s got so much drive, he’s creative and it’s hard not to watch him because he’s very inspiring.

I’ll most likely finish the donkey and that very last drawing.

@jillustrations has an interesting contest regarding going over old drawings. Thought it might be up your alley seeing as you just pulled a bunch out. I really like that last image of the girl resting on her hand. Would love to see what you would do with that concept now.

I’ll definitely check that out. You know how bad I am about getting into contests. I’m deciding how I should color the girl resting on her hand. I might add text.

uhhweee cheers for the mention! XD
and hell to the yeah it would be awesome if you participated @vermillionfox! ;D

I’ll give it a go!

yaaay! ~~ gotta hurry tho, there's only a little time left! XD
it's already "day 6" of the post today! XP

😭 I attempted to redraw an image yesterday but I had to trash it. I’m gonna try again in the next hour.

haha it's ok! as of right now ( 9pm UTC-05:00 ) you have 20 hours left!

😅 I missed it but I might still post the image. I was continuously interrupted as I was getting images ready to post so maybe it was just wasn’t meant to be.

aww damn. well, you know what? Just keep it for the next one ;D I'll do another one in a week (I want to do a different challenge in between to mix it up ;D )

Totally agree on the donkeys being so adorable! Lovely drawing :) would love to vote for that one to be completed first!

Thanks @polebird! Looks like I’ll be starting on that one first!

Yay! :) can’t wait to see the finished piece

Donkeys and baby elephants!
Be still my heart!
Can’t wait for you to share your Chicago trip with us💜

I still have to save up for my tickets, but I’m going to try to make that trip happen. :D

Before you know it you’re there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26