Drawing #4 - Scrapbook 1 - Front and Back covers for Scrapbook - Intro to the rest of my art projects

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit friends:

Lately I have been up to my neck in drawing projects. This scrapbook project was particularly urgent because my friend, Sylvie, is moving back to Saint Lucia tomorrow. We wanted to send her back with our love and memories. It was fun making the scrapbook and a little awkward primarily because Sylvie hates taking pictures and we can't make a scrapbook without pictures. Every time I made attempts to take pictures of her to add to the scrapbook, she would run away. I completely understand because I, too, dislike taking pictures. However, I decided to deny myself, and have been taking more pictures of myself whenever I am out and about, just in case I decide to blog about it. It is really strange for me and sometimes it makes me feel as if I am acting narcissistic in some way. One day I might just grab a random stranger off the street and ask him/her to take a picture with me. I'm not sure which is less awkward, taking a selfie or taking a picture with a stranger. I'll make sure to fill you all in on the details soon on that one.

In order to take pictures of Sylvie for the scrapbook, I had to stalk her like a creep and take pictures when she wasn't looking. But more of that in the next post; I have many pictures of me being a creep to share with you all later. (It was all for the scrapbook, I promise!) 

This is the front and back of the scrapbook:


The first picture I started drawing was the back cover (picture with Illinois and flowers). This picture wasn't particularly difficult to draw. I just didn't know what to draw at first because I had just met Sylvie pretty recently. Another one of our friends suggested drawing Illinois and Chicago with flowers from Saint Lucia surrounding it.

I only took one picture prior to it being completed, in which, it was only missing the rose. I added the rose later to sort of balance the picture out:

I'm actually pretty surprised because the rose turned out much better than I thought. It was my first time drawing one to be honest. The rose, I learned, is St. Lucia's national flower which is a vibrant pink. Had I known of it before, I might have decided to draw on white paper so I could have colored it pink. 

This is the progression of the front cover: 

You may or may not have noticed already, but underneath the blue and baby blue strips of paper (lower left corner), I completely messed up the drawing. To make a poor attempt at fixing it, I colored the entire mistake black (which wasn't any better). Thankfully, I had colored paper lying around to cover it up. I didn't really have a plan for the cover. I just started drawing circles and doodling until I realized I could make it into a pretty sunflower.

Future Projects:

As for my future drawing projects... the struggle is real... I'm still working on drawing a male character with his hair blowing in the wind and it hasn't been working out too well for me. I talked to my artist friend about it and he sent me these three pictures for reference (he found them online): 

It really is a work in progress. The other project I've been working on is a character turntable where the same character is drawn at different angles. This is really challenging for me because that means they all have to look alike. Lol. I'm tempted to draw a cute panda rolling around and call it a day. I'm getting around to it @nathwright876! The third project will be a copics drawing of luffy. I am entering into a makeshift challenge with my artist friend, Roy, the one who gives me art advice, to see who can draw better. *ahem* low key, he draws much better. He will be drawing Zoro for the challenge. So, if you have any drawing advice, I am in need of much help with just about everything. I'm not sure how this drawing challenge is going to go down either. If I'm challenging my "art teacher" I don't know who to ask for drawing advice! 

Thanks for reading!

@omega-not

⊂゚U┬────┬~

psst! Help meeeeee! 
Sort:  

A great post

Thanks for keeping me updated on maybe coping out and drawing a panda rolling over haha it is tricky to draw the same character a few times but it is good.

I wouldn't draw gear fourth! Well I did, but I mean for your challenge. Also try finding a moment where luffy is directly facing the "camera" from the earlier part of the sho, I think that'll help.

Is it a comic challenge?
And
Are you doing full character turntable?

Lol, I won't be coping out though! I'll try to draw a full character turntable. My goal is to finish it by tomorrow night. We'll see, I might have to stay up tonight with five espresso shots to finish up my physics work.

I was thinking about drawing one with him facing the camera, but with ton's of shadows (like when he gets angry). It's not a copic (comic lol) challenge, but I've been dying to use copics!! I still haven't used them since I've been working on the scrapbook, my anime (male with long hair) in my sketchbook, and the turntable (also in sketchbook).

Do you have artist's block right now? I was looking at your blog to see if you posted any new drawings, but haven't seen any!

Damn physics work!

Drawing luffy facing the camera angry sounds good, go with that. If you are not using copic(comic lol) all the shadow will help you out.

I am a bit gutted to have no new post n but I dont have artists block. I know what I'm going to draw next and I have had the time but haven't. I also know when I'll be making another drawing post.

Sorry to have a quiet week with no new drawings, soon there will be another!

I just turned in my final physics report! So, I am free! I am using copic (comic lol). Gosh Nath, leaving your audience hanging like that? tsk tsk

I've been sort of procrastinating on posting also (>.O) mostly because I'm kind of nervous to post my next post, my non-drawing crazy posts.

・゜゚・・゜゚・☆☆・゜゚・(^O^)/・゜゚・☆☆・゜゚・・゜゚・*☆

I am sorry about not posting I hope to pick up the pace going forward but I dunno how that go. Hopefully really well!

Don't be nervous post away, steemit users seem to generally a great bunch of accepting people :)

It's all good, I was just curious; I remember you said you weren't able to figure out what to draw so I wondered if that was the case again.

Ahaha, I'll continue working on posting, but I'm not sure if my nervousness will go away >.O

Yeah, most people I have spoken to have been great so far!

The cover for the scrapbook is fantastic. I like the stylized hills and simplicity of the patterns. You have a gift and it is great to see you keep giving!

Thanks Joe! It was pretty fun making it. It took much longer than I thought it would to make the designs and hide the mistakes.

Very nice! Sylvie is blessed to have you as a freind... Even if you do creep around behind her with a camera ;)

Aw thanks Denise. She was asking me how all those pictures were taken and when, then I confessed, "Sorry, I creeped on you." She said it was worth it. I'm glad she wasn't freaked out by me lol. Maybe it's okay for me to creep on people for pictures because I'm pretty small and I don't look very intimidating.

I agree with the "pretty small" but the "don't look very intimidating" may be up for debate ;) Just kidding!

D: Look here Denise, I can smile to look more approachable, but I can't change my face! Lol.

Adding the yellow in the front side was an awesome idea, looks really nice! Loved the minimal back too. Can't believe you drew the rose so good for the first time :0
Btw how are you guys planning to draw in the challenge - will you be copying an image from the net entirely, or will you look at the character's details first and then imagine them in a pose and draw?

PS: adios Sylvie~

Thanks! ~(^-^)~
I just started drawing lol so I don't think I'm skilled enough to draw them in a pose. I'm probably going to look up one online. Roy, however, is a much better artist. So, I'm sure he will be doing something more creative. This reminds me, we need to make a deadline for this challenge. We randomly nominated our other friend, Sam, as the judge.

Is Roy on Steemit yet?

No, I told him about it though. I also told Jillian and Amana.

No probs!
That's cool too. Trust me, you'll definitely learn something new! That's the best part of drawing, your focus is much higher than usual which makes you spot those previously-hidden fine detailing..and stuff.
All the best~ c:

Thanks 'Aye ^-^ That's true, I have been drawing a character turntable and I was able to draw most of them with not too much difficulty. I'm really excited to start coloring with copics! Blend blend blend!

Go go go!!

Beautiful works @omega-not ! Following you now for sure. Thank you for sharing these! You can check out one of my pieces here: https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@stanhopeofficial/color-challenge-friday-blue-original-painting-grandpa-and-me

Hey! I just looked at your picture and I love it! It's simple yet still has a sort of complexity to it. I always have trouble conveying the sun's reflection on water. The angle of the boat looks great too. If you look at my previous post, I attempted to draw a car at an angle and it didn't work out too well... Oh, just a little tid bit, most of my family is military also :o

I am new an Artist as you …found it is a lot of fun if you like doing it ..

https://steemit.com/travel/@jyotirmay/some-beautiful-place-in-india

If you find it interesting UPVOTE and please click on the FOLLOW and let’s exchange comments in the future. Very much rewarding.

Good luck,
@jyotirmay

Hey @jyotirmay! I just saw some of your sketches and they're great! They're pretty detailed! Have you been drawing for a while?

Thank you so much and what do you actually want to know ?

That's an interesting question to ask. Well, I would like to know how long you have been drawing to draw that well. I do more anime style drawing because I feel like doing realistic drawings take a really long time. The last two realistic drawings I did took about six hours of drawing each.

It takes about one to two days for each of my drawings, because I sometimes take a little longer to draw ....... nice to talk to you, can we make friendship :) :)

Oh nice! That's not so long. I was actually thinking recently how I wanted to make my anime characters more realistic looking. But who knows how that one will go. >.<
Yeah for sure, if you don't mind being friends with weird people. xD

Why I am weird, being a friend is a normal thing. Maybe you can get a good friend...... :) :)

If you want so we can contact on facebook :] see my Steemit profile.

Lol, I meant I'm the weird one x_x I don't really use facebook anymore. I'm all for steemit. I'm following you! :]

very creative drawing you are doing,upvoted,Welcome to check my drawings to get some inspiration.

Hellooooo! Thanks @dixonloveart! I looked through your blog and you seem like a very well rounded person, travelling about and drawing. The shadow play looks interesting. I've been thinking about exploring my own home town and blogging about it. It's kind of rainy and hot outside right now though, so no travelling for me anytime soon. I love your Steemit shirt by the way (^-^)/ I've been wanting to get a Steemit hat to wear around!

I really like your drawings, and the cover turned out beautifully. Following you to see more awesomeness:)

Thanks @creationofcare! Aha, I'll do my best (>.O) I'm a pretty new artist. I think you have enough awesomeness for the both of us with your leather crafting skills!

Wow you look very nice I follow you, and I invite you to see my profile I make drawings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87