Color Challenge - Friday Blue: Original Painting "Grandpa and Me"

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

I painted this painting for my Grandfather for his last Christmas on Earth.

Grandpa and Me
18" x 24" Acrylic Paint on Canvas

1525311_543421530053_447800906_n.jpg

My Grandfather was a very military-type man. Seeing his tears of happiness for the last time as he said "Your grandmother would have really, really loved this" was an experience I will never forget. The painting hung in his veteran's nursing home room, for him to show off to all his fellow veteran friends. After my grandfather passed, my father (also a very militant man) broke out in tears with me over the phone and asked me if he could have the painting, which now hangs in his house in Maine.

Love the people in your life.

Thank you.

If you enjoy my painting, writing, and/or music, please be sure to follow me here.

-CTS

#colorchallenge @kalemandra

Sort:  

Like your style of art and also the touching story @stanhopeofficial .thanks for sharing. I also follow you.

beautiful moving story @stanhopeofficial - thank you for sharing it.

You're welcome, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Nice painting, mate, I can see some deep feelings through the colors and shapes, looks just cool! If I was you grandfather, I would be glad to get that one:) My grandfather enjoyed fishing as well! I take part in frysayskyblue colochallenge as well :) https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@irishabstainer/colorchallenge-sky-blue-sea-of-eternity I upvoted you and followed! hope to see more great paintings, cheers!

Awesome response! Thank you, glad you enjoy it. Following you back, looking forward to seeing more of your work in the future.

Wonderful art and background history. Thank you so much for sharing..

Thank you for reading and experiencing, @gunni55! Glad you enjoy.

So meaningful.

Upvoted and following.

Thanks for sharing! You are very talented. I look forward to seeing more of your work :) Following you but my upvote is worthless at moment.

Love your painting as well. I love the simplicity of the color scheme and use of block shapes to illustrate the fore and background.

Congratulations @stanhopeofficial! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51