Suncity's Tales: Lijan Quade and Kimen Patec - page 1 of 5!!!

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Ok let's begin the serious stuff with this 5 pages comics!! It's actually a prequel to the Suncity's tales, featuring Lijan Quade (young) and Kimen Patec, and set 30.000 years before the foundation of Suncity on Mars 🔥🐦

800_Quadeventure_1-5__jtrx99.jpg

Full Size


Zeta-analysis

I started to work on this comics last year but I finished coloring this first page specially for this post 😎 so I'm very happy to finally put it out!!
(even if the design of Lijan Quade is not great... I think it gets better in the next pages)

With this comics I wanted to illustrate a scene of Lijan Quade's secret legendary past as a Quade across the Metaverse.

In Suncity, Lijan Quade is the owner and barman of the Dropout, an infamous place with many freaks as regulars (Like Captain Spectro, the Mayor, and bounty hunters).

As Lijan lead the Team Quade against the Team Destroy, I think it's better to show parts of his deep secrets to later understand the double meaning in his relation with Hammerjack.

Plus, it's establishes his true character and set a weird feeling of mystery when we will see him as a mere barman in a shabby bar knowing that he is in fact the T'vaani's Quade, The Quade Among The Quades!!

And finally it's a way to trigger the "Quades Arc", with Harriman, Orson Quade, Sukiyaga Quade, TeKlan Quade (the famous Krakokakoxikarak's Quade) and many more, but that for much... much... later...

So in this first page we can see a yougner version of Lijan Quade and Kimen Patec emerging on a alien planet and beginning to fight like always during this period, before they reach Alerby 😆


Drawing process

I will share here the all process from scratch even if it's a bit long because that was my first 5 pages comics (and I still have 4 more pages to color for future steem posts...) so it help me to understand what I can do better next time!!

So the very first step was to prepare a storyboard with all the dialogs and pages organisation. In the beginning there where only 4 pages but the panels in the fourth page were confusing so I re-dispatch them in 5 pages.

750_Quadeventure_Storyboard.jpg

the storyboard - don't look there is minors spoilers!!

Then I drew a very basic sketch of all the pages to find the vanishing points for perspectives.

600_Quadeventure_Sketching_1-4.jpg

the sketch - sorry if I hurt your eyes!!

After that, I proceeded to draw the rough version. Here I liked Kimen Patec but Lijan is not exactly what I have in mind (fun fact: for the face of "old" Lijan I used Jorah Mormont face as a reference, but when I had to draw him "young" it was really hard to figure him younger 🤣🤣🤣)

700_Quadeventure_Rough_1-5.jpg

the rough - in french!!

While inking, I redrew Lijan in the bottom left corner for a better expression of his movement (front kick!!) but doing so, my inking went south and the result is awful!!

700_Quadeventure-01_Inking_1-5.jpg

the inking - speed lines used as a cover-up!!

For the coloring I used my "simplified" cell shading technique. I'm still working on this technique with for objective to be quick and impactful (oh dear... I got so many drawings to colors, it had to be quick and always quicker if I want to reach Alebry one day...)

P1__Quadeventure-01_Coloring_1-5-4.jpg

Color 1 - the flat colors

P3__Quadeventure-01_Coloring_1-5-4.jpg

Color 2 - add texts and colored gradients

P4__Quadeventure-01_Coloring_1-5-4.jpg

Color 3 - add shadows and colored details

P6__Quadeventure-01_Coloring_1-5-4.jpg

Color 4 - add withe lights and texts Fx

The results: saturation overdose 💥


gif__Quadeventure-01_Coloring_1-5.gif


Hope you've enjoyed this post! Next page next week!!
(haven't finish my darwing of AT30...)

The other pages of this comics are here (or will be when I'll release them in a few weeks):

Page 2 of 5
Page 3 of 5
Page 4 of 5
Page 5 of 5 in Space!!

If you want know more about my steem-webcomic:Introducing Suncity's Tales. And here is the Suncity's Index connecting all my Suncity related posts (so far).

Footer_01_jtrx99.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing! It's looking pretty good!!

Hi Cob!! many thanks for the resteem!
The steemit-webcomics community is growing fast!!

and all thanks to you and many more :D! thanks for growing this commmunity

Hola @jtrx99...excelente comic....se ve que tienes mucha destreza en el diseño..saludos

Hola @maggy7419 ! es el comienzo 😃 Gracias por el apoyo !!

Looking great! I'm always excited to find more comic artists. Can't wait to see more pages!

Thanks!!
They'll come for sure one at the week!

Nice bro hahahah @jtrx99 💟

Glad you like it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99