Quick Review of Marker Pens - Micron vs. CopicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing8 years ago

Greetings

selfie

For those of you unfamiliar with my posts, I love to draw. As a full-time artist, I've spent countless hours becoming very well acquainted with my tools. Right now I'd like to share my personal opinions regarding two well-known and widely used marker pens within the ink-drawing community (as related to my personal drawing style):

Sakura Pigma Micron and Copic Multiliner Classic.

(linked to brand product pages)

Being a quick review, I'll not go too far into detail about these products ;)

The Pigma Micron marker sold by the brand Sakura is usually less expensive than the Multiliner marker sold under the Copic brand.

In my experience, on paper suitable for drawing in pen or ink, Microns tend to fade out noticeably when an eraser is applied. Therefore, I find underlying pencil is best kept very light when utilized as a guideline for the ink application. I have noticed almost no fading after erasing over strokes made with the Multiliner.

I have also noticed Microns are prone to feathering a bit when used with a wet media (on a suitable paper for wet/dry applications). However, water doesn't seem to cause strokes from the Micron to streak or smear. Unfortunately, I don't have adequate experience yet to comment on the qualities of the Multiliner when used in combination with wet media.

Please note, I am not being sponsored in any way by any of the brands or companies mentioned in this post. I am merely sharing my opinions with those interested in looking


In my opinion, none of these marker pens would likely create a dark enough stroke to appreciate on work sizes greater than 18" x 18".

SizeBrandComments
005 (0.20 mm)MicronFinest-point marker offered by Sakura. Great for fine detail on work sizes ranging from 5" x 7" - 8" x 10". Great for outlining. Also useful for lettering when a steady hand is used.
01 (0.25 mm)MicronGood for scribble/random lines and shading. Too large for fine detail on work sizes less than or equal to 5" x 7". Good for lettering and outlining.
03 (0.35 mm)MicronCan be used to create bolder lines than taper to thin. Good for rough/bold hatching and bold outlining on work sizes less than or equal to 5" x 7".
05 (0.45 mm)MicronCreates bold, heavy lines that lay down smoother than Sharpie brand Ultra Fine tip. Great for bigger, bolder lines on work sizes 5" x 7" to ~8" x ~10". Yields a solid, dark black, but beware of easy smudging before allowing sufficient dry time.
-----------------------------
0.03CopicSuperior marker for ultra delicate shading and refining, laser-sharp lines and crisp detail. Requires a very light hand for best results. Can yield similar value to harder pencils. Not recommended for work sizes greater than or equal to ~8" x 10".
0.05CopicPartners very well with 0.03 when adding slight weight to 0.03 lines. Great for a range of lighter - mid shading values on work sizes less than or equal to 5" x 7".
0.1CopicGreat for detailed hand-lettering and outlining on work sizes less than or equal to 5" x 7". Can be used for shading and to create bolder lines than taper to thin.
0.3CopicGreat for detailed hand-lettering and outlining on work sizes less than or equal to 5" x 7". Works well for patterns and texture.

Below is my personal "field test" of these pens. Initially I was just making myself a kind of quick reference, hence the scattered placement of my strokes. At the very bottom of this page I was messing around with different types of letters just for the fun of it.

20dec_marker-pen-review

And here is the same page after I completed outlining my screen name. There might be some potential lurking, but then again, maybe not.

20dec_marker-pen-review2


Thanks for reading! If this information has helped you or someone you know, we would love to hear your story :D

Be Easy <3

Sort:  

I use a .005 Micron for fine drawing on the game miniatures I paint.

That sounds interesting. Do you have any pictures?? I would love to see your work. I feel very comfortable drawing on paper, but 3-D objects are unexplored territory for me.

I am working on a project that will be detailed in one or more posts with lots of pictures. ETA: Unknown. The project needs to be done by the 29th, but compiling the article may take longer.

great idea for a post

You've got your science on marker pens!

Nah, I am only an average user ;)
Thank you for stopping by to look at my review!

You are very dedicated and talented.

Thank you :D Thank you

Thanks for writing this up! It's more than a quick review. Have you explored digital brushes, especially programmable ones? Check this out :) http://blackink.bleank.com/

I really do not know much about marker pens and such but may it be to bold for me to say you have a wonderful smile!

Thank you for your kindness! I appreciate your words :) I used to have a wonderful frown, but I've been finding more and more reasons to smile.

As the price of Bitcoin goes up against failing currencies I to now have a crypto smile!

Yes, the King (fiat) is dead! Long live the King (crypto)! ;p

Wonderful information. I myself like using Micron more despite its shortcomings. But Multiliner offers cleaner lines and do not smudge like Micron would. Or it could just a problem faced by me ;D Again, great post.

Although this is really late, thank you for your comment!

It seems like there is no perfect marker/pen, honestly, but that doesn't have to stop us from trying to find one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56