Creation or Curation after HF21?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Creation or Curation after HF21?


HF 21 is less than 24 hours away and we all wait in anticipation to see how things will shake out.

Moving forward, will you invest more of your time and effort on Content Creation or Curation?

Things to consider:

  1. The reward distribution between creators and curators will 50%/50%, instead of 75%/25%?
  2. A Convergent Linear Rewards Curve is being implemented. source
  3. According to the Steemit Team, "we expect posts that would make more than 20 STEEM under the old rules to earn more after the changes. Those posts that would have made less than 20 STEEM under the old rules will receive less after the changes. source
  4. After HF 21, 65% of Steem yearly inflation will go to content. In the past, 75% of inflation has gone to content. The remaining 10% of inflation will go to the newly created SPS (a project funding mechanism). source

  • Content Creation

  • Curation

  • I do not know.

  • I am leaving so it doesn't matter.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

I haven’t been around much. You leaving steem?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had to take a 10-day break when I had pneumonia, so I understand needing to step away for a little while. But "no", I do not plan on leaving Steem. Granted the prices of Steem is lower than I want it to be, but there is so much happening. I am hopeful of higher prices and even greater reach to those not currently apart of the community.

Good to see you around again. Thanks for stopping by!

Cool. I’ll vote for Curation for now. I will not be creating content much anymore.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry to hear that. Hope all is well, and best of luck in your curations efforts. I won't mind if you stop by my posts.

I can tell that you have been out for a while because SBI is upvoting your comments. They did that for me when I rejoined after my 10-day break.

Yeah. Work just is super crazy. When I slows down I will start posting again. If you ever create gaming content use the battle tag. I’ll try and upvote you there. I am a whale over there. Ha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Voted for

  • Content Creation

I auto-vote people I like and follow a couple of trails. I vote down to about 80% most of the time. I will change my votes to go at 5 minutes, but my 2 cent is meaningless here.

I will just keep blogging as always and see what happens.

It sounds like we have a similar philosophy. I auto-vote a few quality content creators as well. And I prefer to keep my voting power above the 80% line.

I believe that the price of Steem will go up again. I recommend that you don't focus on the USD value of your vote, but rather focus on your accumulation of Steem. Any vote given or received now has the potential to be worth more later.

If the price gets back up to $8 (which is around 40x the current price), then your vote would be worth 80 cents. That is not meaningless if you ask me!

Well, I do vote down to 70-80% daily and I am on the top list of the curation league for @abh12345. I try hard to get my curation income higher, but I just do not worry about each and every vote. If I like someone I put them on my autovoter and check monthly.

I am also trying to grow my sp as best I can. This is slow but steady since I power down and live off steem money. I hope you are right about the price, @sumatranate!

Voted for

  • Curation

even though, I'd expect an option for both. :)

Oh man! I totally missed that. I was thinking about a "both" option, but I guess I forgot to put it in. But maybe it is good to make someone choose one or the either. Sometimes I get comfortable in the middle, so when I am forced to choose an extreme, I am forced to grow.

Thanks for stopping by! I had not seen you in a while so it is good to hear from you.

Voted for

  • Content Creation

Thanks for answering my question. It will take us a while to see how all the changes will impact the Steem ecosystem. I am hopeful that small content creators will be able to thrive with all of the changes. We shall see.

Voted for

  • Curation

My posts never make 20.

Mine don't make it that high either, but I still have so much I want to share. For now, I will keep my eyes open to both paths so that I can make the best decision. I am not ready to say one or the other yet.

What kind of content do you like to curate?

Voted for

  • Content Creation

What kind of content will you write?

Thanks for your honesty. I think a lot of people are waiting to see how the changes impact the Steem system.

We will find out soon if we keep acting the same way as before but a part will or already changed its behaviour.

Have a happy day.
💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Curation

Why create more when most content creators make way less then 20 per post...

You make a good point about the 20 steem target that will improve creator rewards. The hard part is that you need Steem Power to increase you curation rewards. I hope that in a few weeks, smaller accounts will understand how to maximize rewards and keep earning so that they can build their accounts.

Voted for

  • Content Creation

What kind of content will you create?

I blog about anything that comes to mind. Often about short stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84