Dorito Waffles

My husband and I have a friend who recently bought her fiance a waffle-iron for his birthday. So this year for New year's she invited us along with some other friends to her place to celebrate. She mentioned in the text message that this year's party was going to be themed. Can you guess what the theme was? ....... "Will it Waffle?" Yep that's right! When I read her message I was so excited! 1. I love food and 2. I like trying new things, especially in waffle form! I mean c'mon who doesn't like waffles?! Knowing that this was a 'food' party it was a little hard for me not to be super excited knowing that I would soon be trying all kinds of different foods.

After some thought of what would taste good along with what mixes well and "we need to make something so different and out of this world." My husband and I came up with 'Dorito Waffles', yes that's right, Doritos in waffle form. I will admit my first thought was, how are we going to do this and how will they taste? Here is our finished product. These waffles were delicious although a little on the greasy side (due to the fact that Doritos are known to be greasy).

IMG_20190106_0931577.jpg

These are the ingredients we used: Doritos, cornmeal, water, eggs, garlic, olives and cheese.

We definitely surprised everyone with this idea along with the flavours. My first bite in and I was impressed, not only because they were good but because they actually turned out LOL. All the flavours came through when eating these orange waffle imprinted snack.

Okay, so now it's time for the judgement! These waffles were good, you could taste the garlic we added and the olives gave it a bit of a 'nacho' similarity. The cheese was not as prominent as I would have liked it, but then again it probably got cooked out. The colour was vibrant and stood out on my plate. Cornmeal that was added as an additional binder changed the texture and made it a little dry. The obvious flavour was Doritos, which makes sense since they were the main ingredient. All in all this snack made a ripple in my food experience. There are some things I would change, like adding more cheese and more water or eggs so that the Doritos and cornmeal would't absorb so much of the moisture. However eating these little orange creations with spicy mayo solved the bit of 'dry-ness' problem.

Lastly, would I make these Dorito waffles again? Yes, yes I would because ALL FOOD IS GOOD FOOD!

Sort:  

So good! could eat them by the truck load, but yes, I agree, they were on the greasier side

Congratulations @country.lover! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @country.lover! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @country.lover! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62