Entry for Opheliafu's doodle contest #15 - The Secret Garden Key

in #doodleon6 years ago (edited)
Inspiration..

This week's contest from @opheliafu is based on the three words Garden, Key and secret. While kinda specific it also leaves a lot of room for interpretations and inspiration, just what I'm looking for when looking for inspiration for my art.
I've encountered a few contests lately where the premise is to inspire or to be inspired, as seen in the Tell me what to draw contest by @saywha, and I'm completely taken away by the possibilities that steemit offers artists. Being a steemit skeptic at first when @iwanderela and @fernwehninja introduced me to the platform, I'm now totally embracing steemit and the possibilities it provides. I mean, don't get me wrong, I'll never put down my skeptic purple tainted glasses and I still feel steemit has a lot of improvements ahead, but the community itself is awesome!


amazing!
source

My goal as of now is to enter these awesome contests, write my own, hopefully, quality material and grow as much as possible to share and give back the same amount and more as I've been receiving already. In the long run though I want to arrange and run my own contests, inspired by all the amazing people on here doing just that.. to give motivation and inspiration, that would be so rewarding, pure magnificence!

tools.jpg
my favourite tools atm..

But all in good time and right now that time is dedicated to my contest entry..

I knew from the beginning that with these key words (see what I did there?) I needed to think a bit outside the famous box. I figured that most entries would somehow feature a garden and a door, or something in that direction, and being the special snowflake that I am, I obviously had to do something different. I did my drawing last night without looking at any entries, sparing myself the agony of "OH MY GOD that looks so amazing, I can never compete with that!!"..But this morning I couldn't help myself before I posted my entry, and while I was partly right both in my expectations to the general theme and the skill level of my fellow contestants, I can't stop being amazed of the multitude of imaginations at work there.
Anyways, I'm getting ahead of myself here in the whole process. After a quick brainstorming with a simply astounding amount of incredible ideas, in my own humble opinion obviously, I ended up with a very basic sketch that I really adored. It was enough "outside the box" to satisfy my ever increasing need to feel special and doable enough for my steadily growing, but still limited, skill level.
A lot of work and frustrated attempts later I ended up with my final product.. hope you'll appreciate it as much as I enjoyed making it! And although I have no high hopes to win the contest, 'cause the competition is really really fierce when it comes to doodling, I hope that @opheliafu will value my playing with her words.

The Secret Garden Key

GardenKey.jpg
opheliafu's contest

It has as always been a pleasure.. Be the best you can be and stay awesome!

Jesper

Sort:  

Awesome concept!! Following you! Im an artist myself hope to see more of your work 😁

Thanks for dropping by with awesomeness and compliments :) Followed you back.. not because it's a one for one thing but your stuff looks really cool! Keep it up and thanks again

Thanks!! Keep up the art!

Saw this on steemit links...nice surprise...u really made me read thru that before I can see the final piece...I like it..im mystified hehe..good luck!🙏💕

Great succes! Glad you liked post and drawing.. and thanks :D

Welcome💕🌺

@wanderingdanish Pelase let me try those baking you made and this drawing is cool Upvoting

Hehe the buns are here until they are eaten.. feel free to drop by and get a piece, so good with butter and marmelade :p

Wow that is an amazing composition - you are so creative! Great post too, it's nice to read about the creative process (and doodle angst) behind this .

Hehe the doodle angst is always there lurking :) Thanks for dropping by with your positive vibe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37