Let's start with a doodle (or three)

in #doodlechallenge7 years ago (edited)

I've been finding it a bit hard to get started with blogging, so why not just dip my toes into the steemy unknown by entering a Doodle Challenge?

Somehow my entries ended up being a little bit therapeutic. Depression (the black dog) has had a grip on me recently, and I've always used humour to shoo it away in the past.

This time he's been sticking around a bit longer than usual (must be cuddling up for warmth in this chilly weather!), and I'd forgotten my usual weapon. This challenge jogged that little rebellious spark of humour in me, and the results are below.

It turns out the power of the pun will always conquer the black dog. And drawing flowers. :)

Entry 1:

A sketch of a daisy sitting in a bowl of noodles, looking non-plussed.
This one was pun to do.
Sorry, I'll stop now.

Entry 2:

A sketch of a black scottish terrier carrying a daisy.
My black dog is actually really cute.
Today he brought a flower

Entry 3:

A sketch of a tulip standing defiantly beneath a raining cloud.
How I feel when the metaphorical rain comes.

Thanks to @cryptomomma for starting this not-too-intimidating challenge, and @goldenroom for resteeming it and hence bringing it to my attention.

And thank you all for coming with me on this mini-therapy session!

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to submit to the doodle challenge @wendles! I'm fairly new to Steemit myself and have also found it somewhat difficult to dip my toes in the metaphorical water to start blogging. I'm happy that this challenge isn't too intimidating 😁. Your first entry got a good laugh out of me! Super cute! I followed you to see more of your posts and look forward to reading your future blogs!

Yes, starting blogging is tougher than expected! I had a look at your blog, and congratulations on the birth of your little Vincent. He is gorgeous :) I love when they are squishy little newborns. I've followed you as well and hope to see more of your art and adventures in the future. And it looks like your challenge is taking off, yay!

I guess it always hard to start blogging, I am finding quit hard too. I like ur doodles how long did it take to draw them ! ✌️👍

Thanks @tourboijosh :) I spent a few minutes on each one. Like blogging, if I overthink them, then they never get finished!

I've had a quick look at your blog and the title of your latest post is super relevant. Mental health should absolutely not be a taboo subject. I'll be following you.

@cryptomomma started this challenge with exactly that in mind! A simple challenge that everyone can be a part of!

Awesome to see people participating! She'll be very happy when she wakes up 😃

I really like how she's designed the contest to be so inclusive. :) And yes, I hope lots of people join in!

Thank you so much for your comment it means a lot. I wasn't sure if to write about this issue but I think I made the right choice to talk about it. Mental health should not be something you are afraid to speak about. And we all need to do our bit! It would be fab if you can restem that blog because I know more users will find it useful ! I just followed u back ✌️👍 I can never draw that well in a couple of mins !

I've resteemed your post now. :) Glad you spoke up, we need to remove that taboo and the stigma associated with mental health. I totally agree that talking to a trusted person really helps.. The hard part is sometimes finding a good listener.

Yeah so true I think that why most people keep it to themselves! Thanks for your comments!!!✌️🙌 I going to make more content in a couple of days

Congratulations @wendles! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @wendles! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48