How I got scammed out of .08 bitcoin by a guy claiming to be Roger Ver - Don Tapscott

in #don6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_69.png
Screenshot_70.pngScreenshot_71.pngScreenshot_72.pngScreenshot_73.pngScreenshot_74.pngScreenshot_75.pngScreenshot_76.pngScreenshot_77.pngScreenshot_78.pngScreenshot_79.png!Screenshot_80.pngScreenshot_81.pngScreenshot_82.pngScreenshot_83.pngScreenshot_84.pngScreenshot_85.pngScreenshot_86.png

As soon as I saw the last event I started to realize that the red flags I had noticed were real.

https://blockchain.info/address/3PPBQiAjsqXV3AGMk6xxuwDwRbB8xuSN1f

Screenshot_87.png

https://blockchain.info/address/14BFnpyEZnACkuwBhwvW2hNVjaYQY25YNZ

So about 150,000 dollars worth of bitcoin was stolen by this guy "Don Tapscott." (I realize this may be a new target for impersonation - who is some guy who I have never heard of - but he is the best selling author of a few books, and here is a TED talk by this guy.)

Following the trail to the bitcoin, I think the person ended up sending it to this bitcoin address, 15 bitcoin left, https://blockchain.info/address/1H91HHDt3bEgv3zHk1GqXYnkANJfjHLSZC

If you read through this, could you do me a favor? Sign up or log into for Steemit and click the like button below? Thanks!

Sort:  

Red flags all around... oh well..

I will survive, but guys like this can easily wipe out other folks.

Good thing, that you're sharing your experience and how you got scammed. More people need to be aware of scams in any guise. You can be careful for years and still slip that one time. I've been scammed 1x in my life too and learned the lesson. It's been so much easier to spot obvious scams after that.

This one was a full red flag since "if you're interested in...."
Don is not his real identity either, but just a new cover for the scammer.

I wish you good luck on recovering from this, man.
Upvoted (least i could do).

Thanks man.

Ouch - happens to the best of us sometimes... Good job on posted this.

sorry for your loss.

Always verify who you are talking to and I would not recommend investing in any cloud mining sites because it is very rare to make a profit using cloud mining.

I recommend to just HODL (hold) your cryptocurrency for the long term and you will find that you will make the most profit that way.

I have an ongoing cloud mining contract with eobot (https://www.eobot.com/user/31196 allows you to "see" my mining) but they also have a pool that I use when I turn on my miners. They are not currently on, but there they have the ability to set it that it mines for 10 minutes on one coin, then switches to another. You can also have it mine for cloud contract, so you would be able to increase your earnings that way, long after the miners are past their prime.

Spread the word the guy probably fucked up and when he went back to his normal number so there is a good chance that is his name id call the authorities

Now that’s one elaborate scam scheme, thanks for sharing!

Thanks, just be warned. People like that will attact when you least expect it.

Thanks for sharing and it would be nice if more people share their scammers experiences and people can learn from it

This guy could also be a victim:

Thanks for sharing this interesting TED talk

This is the guy that supposedly also was either the new scammer or the new target for impersonation.

That is odd. Don Tapscott is supposed to be a relatively successful crypto speaker and promoter from Toronto.

It's not odd. He's just impersonating a new person.

That could be the next target, but that was a dead giveaway when he did that, and facebook told on him.

It might be worth contacting the Toronto Police Service to report the crime.

https://www.torontopolice.on.ca/core/theft_under.php

It does not allow me to do that without a Toronto address for the Incident

Screenshot_88.png

i could get some international calling on my plan and call them. I can not find his address anywhere, which is not surprising.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05