Chronicles of a Dolphin-Curator - Happy Days!

in #dolphincurator8 years ago (edited)

24th July 2016 edition


(photo courtesy of @stellabelle)

Today's Voting Rewards

A quick look at the Curation Rewards that came through with decent payouts today (over 1 STEEM) and an insight into how I voted and why

1. https://steemit.com/travel/@hellokitty/laying-low-in-laos-oh-no-more-tits-n-travel

by @hellokitty

Looks like voting on travel blogs can still pay dividends. I got in on this post more than two hours after it went up. I was the second dolphin to vote on it after @steemship. Interesting he voted immediately before me and got 62.617 SP. 25 SP more than I did eventhough we had similar weighting. It shows the value of getting in early even if it is by one vote!

I'd say this post was a relative slow burner however after @ned (then @dantheman) jumped in, a straggle of whales followed. For me this post highlights the bandwagon phenomenon prevalent on Steemit at the moment. This post went 3 hours before the first whale upvoted it. Yet it was then jumped on my a whole host of whales thereafter.

Perhaps it's easier (and natural) for whales to take their cues from each other. As a dolphin curator it pays not to get too emotionally invested in what I think the whales are doing. I just utilise the information to help me make better voting decisions. Needless to say I'm very happy with my return on this click.

Rewards: 37.717 SP

2. https://steemit.com/survival/@venuspcs/the-horror-that-was-my-childhood-a-tale-of-survival-against-the-greatest-of-odds-part-4

by @venuspcs

I had a chance to be the first dolphin in on this post after 16 minutes so I took it. This was the fourth and final instalment. It's great when posts are split up into part as it's usually indicative as to how the post will do. Part 1 got $1900, Part 2 got $55, Part 3 got $645. I predicted this could do between $500 - $1000. It got $800 and I netted a tidy sum on this click.

Rewards: 4.742 SP

3. https://steemit.com/business/@kevinwong/steemit-and-the-dance-music-scene

by @kevinwong

I voted on this 3 hours after it went up. I wasn't early, a few dolphins and mini-whales had voted on this before I got in. The big fishes however had yet to arrive. Thankfully they did, and I got almost 2 STEEM for my click.

Rewards: 1.937 SP

4.https://steemit.com/steemit/@innuendo/how-to-fix-the-downvoting-issue

by @innuendo

I voted almost 2 hours after this post went up. After @wang but before any other dolphins or whales had voted on it. Luckily for me @dantheman voted, 20 minutes later and that's all it took to earn me a nice little bonus.

Rewards: 1.115 SP

5. https://steemit.com/europe/@skapaneas/so-you-made-it-to-the-top-10-trending-posts-on-steemit-what-comes-next

by @skapaneas

So I voted on @skapaneas post purely to help his experiment, fortunately for me, it appears @dantheman responded to @skapaneas plea two minutes after me. Netting me another neat little bonus!

Rewards: 3.004 SP

There is certainly STEEM Power to be earned by curating on a weekend. Whales (understandable) aren't as active as in weekdays. This means if you can get in on posts before the few that are around vote, you can earn well. 48 SP (approx. value = $168) isn't bad for a few clicks on a Saturday!... I'm starting to think it may be feasible to be a #careercurator one day!

Happy days!

Be sure to follow and check in tomorrow.

#dolphincurator #curator

Sort:  

nice , informative article which actually talks about numbers rather than just bluffing. Those who got in early are surely reaping the rewards now.

RE post 1 - I saw this earlier and found it hilariously ironic how she talks about 'tits and travel' posts paying dividends!

Indeed... these are the wild west days of "blog rewards".

In the future people will have crazy stories to tell about how they earned in ridiculous amounts of money blogging on Steemit. Imagine if STEEM becomes ultra-successful. The dividends from these posts could be massive.

Fortune favours the early adopters... for all the highs and lows, we should enjoy these times.

I agree. Over the past few years I've been saying I've missed out on all different types of 'booms' - not this one!

It is ironic. Time will tell how all this pans out but hats off to those who got in early and reaped the rewards.

wow amazing, very good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62497.97
ETH 2428.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65