Tough Dog Breeds: Doberman Pinschers

in #dogs5 years ago

Once again I am going to state that I am not a professional and it is not my intention to hurt anyone's feelings. I love all dogs and I am not trying to say that any of them are bad. However, I know from my own life and from other people's experiences in the same realm that this particular breed is a real handful - and people who acquire one really need to know what they are getting themselves into.

It is also worth noting that I absolutely love Dobermans, I think they are one of the most regal breeds in existance and they are extremely loyal and well, tough and scary-looking. However, they are a real handful if you don't have the right amount of time and conditions for them


source

I was first introduced to Dobermans outside of films by my high school friend who ordered a male purebreed (at great expense) from a world-renowned breeder. His name was "Trevor" (the dog's name) and he was pure muscle with a bark that would scare the pants off of any would-be burglar.


source

However, if you were in Trevor's "inner circle" (IE, his owner knew and trusted you) you had absolutely nothing to fear as he was just as much of an attention-seeking pussycat as the average Golden Retriever. His owner Mark could get him all riled up by saying "Trevor.... where is the cat!" and Trevor would run around going mental with that deep, fear-inducing bark and growl of his.

I loved Dobermans from that point forward. However, there were some downsides that I think was brought on by the less-than-perfect living conditions.

Dobermans are HUGE animals and it should come as no surprise that they need a tremendous amount of exercise. My friend was not an exercise dude and even if he was, the leash laws in the United States would make it nearly impossible for Trevor to get the amount of exercise that he needed. This resulted in a problem than many large dogs end up having.... boredom.

Nearly every Doberman owner that I have known, or do not know and simply see their testimonials online) their dog would chew up everything. Obviously, this is problematic for the owner. They also do not stay terribly interested in their own backyards for some reason. The people I know that have wonderful Dobes, one of the couple doesn't work and spends a lot of time in the yard playing with their dog. "Tinker" (the other dog) is very well-behaved and every time i see him he is normally asleep, exhausted from the long playtime in the yard.

Trevor on the other hand, was extremely loyal, and would never disobey a command, but when left alone, he would chew up anything he could get his hands on.... Mark would get him all manor of chew toys but sill had to lock him up whenever he went to work and this is where tragedy struck. Trevor began chewing on his own front paw and eventually developed an incurable infection on said paw because of his persistence. The leg eventually had to be amputated and about a year later, Trevor did the same thing to his other front paw. At this point Mark had to leave trevor with one of those cone-of-shame devices on at all times.

This was not because Trevor was a bad boi, or because Mark mistreated him, Mark simply didn't have enough time to give Trevor the amount of exercise that the dog needed for mental health. I have heard of dogs chewing up your furniture or shredding some pillows etc, but this was the first time I had ever heard of a dog mutilating itself as a method of passing the time.


source

Obviously, this is an extreme example but I think that a lot of people end up getting a certain type of dog because they like the "look" of it and don't really take into consideration what is likely the MOST important aspect of any dog: Do YOU have what it takes to actually raise this animal? Marks was a very good person, still is. Trevor is long gone but I will never forget how bad I felt for that dog, and how bad Mark did as well and I'm not trying to say anything bad about Mark here... he didn't know. Hindsight being 20/20 and all that.

If you don't have a ton of land or are not retired or a stay at home person of some sort, then this is not the right dog for you. Therefore, as much as I love this breed (definitely want one if i ever have a massive expanse of land) I will likely never get one because it wouldn't be fair to the dog. I'll just stick with Shih-Tzu's for now.

once again, I am not trying to hurt anyone's feelings with these opines, it is just how i feel from my own life-experience. The other dog I said might not be the best for most people was a Beagle and that article is here

Sort:  

I have a feeling our dog gets bored a lot of times, we try to take her out as much as possible on long walks. Like you said though, the leash laws don't really allow her to run. If we did let her run she would probably take off on us anyway. There have been a couple of times she has gotten loose and it has been really scary.

I had one myself years ago.
Your photos bring some memories.
I agree with your analysis but it's not as bad.
It's a working dog, the same as border colly or pointer.
I trained mine for competition every day for an hour and he didn't chew anything.
Although is big it needs to be in the house with the owner and with daily exercise.
As all dogs should be.

I hope to have one someday, I spend a lot of time at home and hope to be able to do so well into the future. Since I try to get as much exercise as I can in a day I think i would be capable of helping one of these guys live a great life.

What sort of competition did you train your Dobe for?

Dogs need loads of time and attention. I have a Bull Mastiff and a chocolate brown Labrador and they are lucky someone is always home. I have never heard of a dog doing that though and is pretty extreme. I just remember those dogs from Magnum (Zeus and Apollo).

Zeus and Apollo were probably instrumental in the rise of Doberman ownership in the 80's. Haha, i had forgotten about them, pretty sure they always hated Magnum... I don't remember, it's been a while.

I like more the pug carlino although every dog I like even those of no race ... They are good companies, right now I do not have, because it would give me a pain to have it in my house and then that it dies of many years, besides the situation is terrible in the country ... dog food is through the clouds ... greetings friend and your special friend hehehe your dog.

i like it used as a guard dog and police dog

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Beautiful race, @gooddream. Sad story about Trevor. They need a lot of care, attention and time so that they can be happy with all their energy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61025.71
ETH 2726.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45