One reason why so many dogs behave 'badly' on a leash

in #dogs6 years ago

Ok - sit down - let's have a serious talk today.IMG_20131101_153846.jpg

I wanna talk about walking outside on a leash and getting harassed by a free running dog. I learned for myself being on a leash means I'm totally safe. Nothings going to happen and no one hurts me or frightens me. And when I can be sure about that, Im totally cool and don't bark at other passing dogs.
But if this trust is destroyed by, for example, a free-running dog who harasses me, while I am restricted in my range of motion, I feel insecure.
I learn with only one bad experience, that it is not safe on the leash, and start to bark at every dog, who comes my way, as a precaution, that he does not come too close to me. Everytime this happens, my human has to train me again to show me that there is no need to get anxious.
When I'm off-leash and we see another dog on-leash I get called and I'm not allowed to go near him as we respect his situation and his safe place.
I know a lot of humans doesn't have a clue why their dogs are so uneasy on the leash...I can tell you ::: They don't feel safe!!
There is something my human does to help me when dogs are approaching and I start to get nervous. We turn around or heading to the other side of the road. And doing this for a time I learned even off-leash that I can make the decision for myself not to go to other dogs with that bad feeling inside me...I can just turn around or go another way. For me the best works just to go to my human as she knows when I'm nervous and stays with me wherever I go then.

So please humans don't let your free running dogs run into dogs on the leash. I know they don't do anything - but the bad feeling inside the dog on the leash is still there.
And most important: get to know your dogs body language - he tells you everything. Don't yell at him when he is nervous already and acting like a hooligan. Try to understand why and start to train him the right way - so he gets a chance to understand what you want from him. Easy ..isn't it?

Hope you enjoyed reading ! See you next post! 🐕

Sort:  

I can only agree on this! Often you see clashes of dogs for where 1 is on the leash and the other one isnt. This just doesnt mix!

Thanks for stopping by @karinxxl and sharing you thought 🐕

You have been upvoted by @rentmoney because @paradigm42 nominated your post in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

An upvote bot should be along shortly to give you an extra upvote !

Thanks so much @rentmoney!
Very appreciated!

Your welcome !

Thank you for letting people know, this is a very good post! My munchkin and I met a nervous doggy on a leash while on a trail today. We know that every doggy is different and needs to be handled with understanding.

Thanks so much for your support @paradigm42!
Votes, resteem, featuring the post - the full program!!!
Need to lick your face 🐕
I know most humans do not like that but I do it nevertheless 😇

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 7.6%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

I Will talk to Joe and Charlie and ask their opinion on the leash thing

Please, do so @brittandjosie!
And if they don't answer directly, just watch their body language - it tells you everything!

Lots of love from Marley 🐕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74