Ringo, Caribbean Dog In Europe - part#5, The Hurricane!

in #dogs7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180228_212738.jpg

Growing up without a father, I didn't have the privilege of learning spiritual values.
With my new family, I've learned a few things, and one of those things was love. I came to appreciate that it's the most important factor in a thriving family.

One of the reasons I think foofie survived was the love we gave him as a family. His growth was slow but steady.

20140724_215950.jpg

This gave us all joy to see him gain strength and walk around.

My son grew up
Foofie grew up to be quiet a fine little cat.
Perla, the other dog that lived with us, was the mother of all of us dogs. So I thought natural Foofie would be attached to her because she gave him such tender care. Strangely enough, he got attached to me! Before I knew it, I was becoming a father and didn't even see it coming.

Who would have thought that a male dog would be so tender and compassionate?

Being kind and gentle seems so natural to me. Maybe I have the characteristics of a good father??
Before I knew it, Foofie grew up to be a wonderful adult cat.

20150610_221359.jpg

Sudden Change
Things started to change rapidly in our family. I overheard my human parents saying that things weren't going well for them here in the Caribbean.
One day I saw my mom gathering her suitcases. She came over to us dogs and told us that she was on her way to Europe. I wasn't quite sure what all that meant. Maybe Europe is not so far away, maybe it's just down the street or the next town.
Little did I know that I wasn't going to see her for the next 3 months.

During that time, it was just me, my human father and his daughter. Things were beginning to settle in again until one day he said that he was also leaving!

What was going to happen to me now?

Just when things felt as if we were a family everything started crumbling again.
Flashbacks of what it was like being left abandoned and struggling for food, terrorized me all over again.
Can a dog just have a normal life?

The Hurricane
There was a nice lady who visited us from whenever when my parents were away. Lucy was very kind to us. She would visit us in the mornings and evenings, and take us for walks.
That was fine for me I miss my human parents, but at least I was still among family, all three of us dogs and Foofie.

Then one night I woke up to the sound of something crashing outside. It was so loud I thought that it was a bomb that exploded! But it was the wind. Never heard the wind being so powerful before
Everyone was really scared.
However I realized that I had to be brave for everyone elses sake, so I tried to remain calm.

The roof of the old house was leaking and there were puddles of water everywhere. We were all alone.
Will this old House make it?

The winds howled for hours and hours.
We just kept together all of us dogs and cat in a little corner while we kept each other warm.
Finally the winds abated.
Thank goodness the house was strong and we survived the hurricane.

Later I found out it wasn't really a very big storm. A category 1 hurricane. There was some talk that they can get up to Category 5.
Well I don't want to experience something like that!

The next day Lucy came to visit us. She was really happy to see that we were okay. We were also happy to see her again.

** Foofie got sick**
A few days before my father returned from his trip, we realized that Foofie wasn't himself. He wouldn't play games with me as he usually did and he wasn't eating. He became very weak and stayed to himself for most part of the day. Everyone was worried.

Was he missing his parents?
Had something worse happened to him?

I'll tell you in the next part of the story.

Have a furry day! 🐾
Ringo🍖

Sort:  

Like your story. Also your narration style is good.

Thanks for your support @rishi-sayz 🤛🏾

Aw, i love animals. Great story!

beatifull man, jajaja awesome

The story is great written. I read it in one breath! Excellent work!

Thanks for your kind response @naditinkoff 🤛🏾

It's really something seeing a dog using this tender and attention to the cat. It's always something you can see on videos and on TV, but then here you come and we personally meet you! Nice to meet you Ringo!

Thanks for your kind words @airmatti ☺️

You got a 22.22% upvote from @ebargains courtesy of @caribbeanmon!

You got a 2.00% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @caribbeanmon!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 1.32% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @caribbeanmon!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67