Explore the Talimena Scenic Drive With US

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Scott and I do more than just collect counties, we collect National Sites such as National Parks, National Forests, and so forth. Between Oklahoma and Arkansas there is a National Scenic Byway called Talimena Scenic Drive. This drive is about a 54 mile drive up on a ridge between Talihena, Oklahoma, and Mena, Arkansas. Here you will find two state parks, a national forest, and some amazing views.

20161124_105840.jpg

Normally we do not travel or visit a location twice, but this National Scenic Byway is a favorite for us. We have traveled along it four times and we use it as a "to get to" venue. The drive is amazing and fun to drive. I am a bit of a chicken and am always afraid of the twisty turny drives, but I absolutely love this one!

DSC02066.jpg

The video shows our actual travel style with the banter and chit chatting, but Scott wanted to do things a little differently with some education about how the mountains were created. He goes into depth and displays many of his photos.

Enjoy the video and thanks for watching.
Ren

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I like that little pic of the two of you in the car on the map 😁

Thanks @thekittygirl. I had just started using a processing program and had all types of interesting effects. I think that was one of my favorite ones.
Ren

hehehehe I live on a mountain (and have lived on a previous mountain) for over 10 years.... I had to get used to those twists and turns as an everyday thing in life! hahahaha

Not my favorite thing to do - but.... i prefer driving them instead of being a passenger while the hubs drives (my gosh he is the worst driver hahahahaha)

Ren does most of the driving when we travel. The mountain roads used to intimidate her, but she is getting better with them. I offer to drive, but she is not a very good passenger in those situations. I'm better at hiding my panic than I am at hiding my impatience with her panicing from the passenger seat.

It's just better to let her drive.

There's one place called Mt Nebo just outside of Dardanelle, Arkansas, that is scary as all get out. I will probably never go back to that State Park.

Ren

I love the rug pushed up against a door analogy! What a beautiful place! I would love to go hiking there and wild camping! Some amazing views! I really enjoyed the video, thank you for sharing!

The Talimina drive runs parallel to the Ouchita trail, which runs from Talahina StTe Park in Oklahoma to Pinnacle Mountain just outside of Little Rock.

We've crossed the trail in many places, and its always beautiful.

The frinds group that maintains the trail has built several shelters, and has detailed information on the trail.
Scott

Absolutely loving this, sitting at the sign was hilarious with you pausing every few minutes when a truck or car went by!

One thing I will say, if you have not encountered @fishyculture an @longsivler - check them out you both remind me of them so much and I am sure you will connect.

I really enjoyed the whole video, plenty of work put in on the editing and it flows perfectly - wonderful entertainment an you both really make the whole experience.

Really enjoyed this one.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you. We appreciate the kind words, and the recommendations.
Scott

Thank you so much! We try to have fun wherever we go. We did the sign about a dozen times and all the takes were filled with cars. We just decided the last take we would just go with it.

So glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again.
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59449.45
ETH 2406.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43