Ulog 3: Camping trip and a return to the Tarmachan Ridge

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

The Tarmachan Ridge is often described as a great introduction to ridge-walking. It's situated in Perthshire, near Ben Lawers, the 11th highest mountain in the British Isles, at almost 4,000 feet.

Map with insert.jpeg

25 Me and Dawn walking along narrow bit of ridge, by Canadian lady 2.jpg

The narrowest part of the ridge

The Tarmachan Ridge starts at a mountain called Meall nan Tarmachan, a Munro at 1,043m (3,422 feet). Meall nan Tarmachan is one of the easiest Munros to climb, because the walk starts at an elevation of over 400m.

13 View up to summit of Meall nan Tarmachan.jpg

The summit of Meall nan Tarmachan

Most people walk along the ridge to a mountain called Beinn nan Eachan, but the walk can be extended to take in another top, Creag na Caillich.

I did the whole traverse, including Creag na Caillich, almost exactly a year ago, on my own. But when I reached a notoriously tricky descent, known as "the Bad Step", I got a bad attack of nerves.

17 Bad step with sunbeams.jpg


The "Bad Step" – this photo fails to show how steep it really is!

There is a bypass path, but I had heard about the Bad Step before, and I was determined to do it! I decided to take my backpack off to steady myself… but as I was trying to set it down, it tumbled over the edge and rolled right down the hillside, scattering my walking poles and water bottle as it fell!

51 Backpack rolling down slope.jpg

My backpack (the turquoise blob) rolling down the hill.

I was horrified, imagining that it might have been me tumbling down the hillside! Anyway, I managed to very carefully edge my way down the least exposed side of the "Bad Step" on my bum, and then I had to go down the hill to pick up my backpack, water and poles.

While there, I noticed more debris. I probably wasn't the only one to have lost stuff on the way down the Bad Step.

After that occasion, I made a decision to return some time and practise going up and down the Bad Step. I organise a Meetup hillwalking group, and if I do the Tarmachan Ridge as a group walk, I want to feel confident about doing the "Bad Step" (which, by the way, isn't exactly a step – it's more of a rocky incline).

26 View back to Meall Garbh and the Bad Step.jpg

So last weekend, with my first outdoor climbing trip planned for the Sunday, I decided to re-visit the Tarmachan Ridge, as it was quite near the climbing location, and then camp on the Saturday night. My friend Dawn decided to join me for the Tarmachan Ridge.

The day was overcast and very windy, unlike last year's trip, when I was treated to strong sunshine.

When we got to the Bad Step, we practised going up and down it a couple of times, till we felt comfortable on it. The video of me climbing up it doesn't give a good impression of the steepness of the scramble, so it looks as if I'm doing a silly walk!

We had a lot of fun, and some friendly conversations, as the ridge was pretty crowded that day.

After our walk, Dawn returned home, while I went to the Cruachan Farm Campsite near Loch Tay, to camp for the night. This was my first camping trip in 10 years.

Luckily the tent was very easy to put up, although once erected I realised that it was on a slight slope, so I moved it to a more comfortable spot.

Tent 2.jpg

I made "Macaroni Mush" for dinner, a simple camping recipe that my mum used to make when we went on family camping trips. You just boil up some pasta and add a tin of mushroom soup, a tin of tuna and a tin of peas or sweetcorn. Delicious!

Macaroni Mush 2.jpg

That night I slept like a baby for nine hours.

Sources

Video photo of Chris Packham

Music: "Commonplace" by BrvtVs, released by FreeBackgroundMusic



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

That's fantastic - thanks so much :)

I've sent you a small gift from Dustsweeper. It will make a nice difference in the little tiny rewards you see for a few days ... but believe me, they add up.

Thanks - that's much appreciated :)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Ill show this to @bingbabe when she gets back, she likes your stuff!

Thanks! And thanks @bingbabe :) If she's into hillwalking, I definitely recommend the Tarmachan Ridge - it's a lovely walk and a great introduction to Scottish mountain ridgewalking.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the Travel Digest #267.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=natubat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=af5b2ab0-89ba-11e8-adb2-bf4283a63cb9


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

1st one is the best one!!
its too good!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48