Is global warming just happening in England?

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

While driving yesterday, I kept hearing this report that "2018 has been the hottest summer on record – for England."

I know that the BBC tends to be quite London-centric, quite England-centric, but certainly where I live, in Scotland, that statistic does not apply!

The reports did also say that it was the joint hottest summer on record – with 1976, 2003 and 2006 – for other parts of the UK. Even that I find a bit questionable. OK, it might have been. Certainly the first part of the summer was very hot, and people kept saying to each other, "I wonder if this is going to beat the records for 1976?" - that's still remembered as the hottest summer ever, for anyone who was alive then!

But after June, it went downhill! So when you've had two months of rainy, cold weather, when you've been having to wear your jumper, even though it's summer, and then you keep hearing that it's the hottest summer on record, you do start to question things a bit!

I know, it's that typical thing of Scotland being just a side project - but in fact Scotland makes up 25 percent of the British Isles in terms of landmass. England has 41 percent of the landmass.

British Isles subdivisions.gif


Source

So I'm starting to wonder if England is getting all the global warming.



We had very hot weather this summer, between May and June. Those were glorious months. We just had day after day after day of hot weather – and that seems to be quite typical. I would say to anyone who lives overseas, if you're planning a trip to Scotland, come in May. In June it sometimes all breaks down, but this June was lovely too

As a hillwalker, I pay a lot of attention to the weather. I'm always looking at weather forecasts. After the beginning of July - after the first few days - the weather started to become more typical for Scotland, with occasional sunny days, but lots of rain. I went camping with a friend at the end of July, because we thought the good weather was coming back. The weather forecast looked positive. But as the departure date approached, the forecast started to change, and we ended up having thunderstorms at first, then lots and lots and lots of rain… then my friend got fed up with the rain and left.

The rainy weather just didn't let up, and on the fourth night I was really cold, despite being in my sleeping bag wearing all my clothes. I decided to pack it in, as I didn't want to risk getting a cold.

So that was the end of July, and it had been a pretty rainy month overall, with not very high temperatures.

Then in August, I kept thinking, "We're going to get this heatwave back!". But it never came back. It was just rain, rain, rain. I was looking at the weather forecast – rain. Looking at the weather forecast again – more rain. Winds! High winds.

11 Walking along narrow path in the mist.jpg

Rain, rain , rain for most of August.

We did have the occasional nice day, and I did have some nice days in the mountains, when – maybe the sun shone for a few hours. But generally, I remember August 2018 as being one of the more miserable summer months that I can remember.

The Guardian has also been writing about this, and this is what it says:

The summer of 2018 will be remembered for a six-week spell from the end of June to the second week of August when daytime temperatures in parts of the country consistently topped 30˚C (86˚F).

Well, I can tell you this: we did not have temperatures of 30˚C in August or in July – maybe in early July, in the first few days. But certainly not in late July or August.

So that is just meaningless for us in Scotland.

And also, don't forget – we had a very cold winter!

Special microclimate

So I have to conclude that England is getting all the global warming. England has a special microclimate of its own, and that gets all the headlines!

I'm actually going to look into this further, because I suspect that towards the end of this year, we're going to see smaller reports saying that actually 2018 was almost the hottest summer on record, maybe the second or third hottest summer. I don't know, because I don't know what exact dates they're using.

You get these sensationalist headlines, and it does make me feel quite sceptical. I've recently been reading a book about the first man to climb all the Munros and all the Munro tops in Scotland, between the years 1917 and 1923. He kept a diary, and on a couple of occasions he was talking about the unusually hot weather. I think you do get phases where you get hot weather.

I'm not saying that global warming is nonsense. I just don't know – I do question it. Especially when you get headlines like this, that only focus on one part of the country – 41 percent of the total landmass of the British Isles.

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

No,actually it is happening all over the world.I think you may have heard about the recent flood situation of Kerala,India.The temperature of earth has increased over the last several decades.

Flood,Hurricane and drought this type of natural disasters are taking places more often.So it is not just in England but all over the world climate is changing.

Thanks for your reply @philipkavan. I'm not denying that warming might be happening in some parts of the world... however I'm not convinced that it is global warming, and when the news tells us that the temperature is getting warmer but I can see with my own eyes and feel with my own body that it's not, in my part of the world, it certainly leads me to ask questions.
It feels as if some parts of the world are getting warmer and others are getting cooler... or maybe that's just how it's always been.
These changes, which are certainly devastating for some areas, could be due to different phenomena altogether – in my opinion.

Well,actually it is like that some parts are getting colder and other parts are getting warmer.I understand what you are talking about.By 'Global Warming' it doesn't only mean that the temperature is rising but it means due to global warming our climate is changing.There are many different adverse effect of global warming.

People's perception is very important in understanding the effect of global warming.Just like you have said you don't see the temperature rising in your area.But you haven't measured it or haven't studied the weather report from the last several years.We are paying no attention to climate change because we can't always understand it with our common perception.

This phenomena is known as 'Gidden's Paradox' in Climate Change studies.Anthony Giddens a British sociologist showed in his climate change theory that sometime people fail to perceive the environmental change of their surroundings this is why we don't pay attention to the climate change and global warming issue.When we realize that we are destroying our environment,it already becomes too late.

Well... this is why I said in my video that I'm going to look into it further. Thanks for the info about Anthony Giddens. A sociologist. Actually that's interesting, because I do agree that people often fail to perceive the environmental change of their surroundings, but that works both ways. When I was making this video, I checked back through my posts on Facebook to see what the weather really had been like in Scotland from June to August, because I was aware that I might be jumbling things up in my mind.

I'm a passionate hillwalker, and every week I post photos of my latest walk on Facebook. I generally walk once or twice a week. So it's an easy way to remember what the weather really was like, because when you're walking in the mountains (I organise hillwalks) it's essential to keep tabs the weather forecast, so that you know what gear to bring.

I think that we often look back to our childhoods with rose-coloured specs, for example, so when a friend started insisting that UK summers in the 1960s and 70s used to be warmer, I really didn't believe her and we had a bit of an argument about it. When I got home, I did a bit of online research, and found that I was right - there was virtually no change whatsoever. But I didn't tell my friend as I thought the argument was best forgotten, and I didn't keep the stats. I'm going to do a bit more research, because I think statistics can be spun in different ways.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Please be careful not to confuse local weather with global climate. Of the Climate Scientists, 99+% agree that global warming is happening. Of that, 97% place it firmly and clearly in the laps of humans who have accelerated temperature change.

A simple Google search for Global temperatures will return hundreds of reports of real, actual temperatures. these are but a few:

https://climate.nasa.gov/vital-signs/global-temperature/

Further, check out Sea Level Rise, Scotland.
Average Temperature, Scotland, Climate Change Scotland.

The evidence is amazingly overwhelming. And it is not opinion. Measuring temperature is easy. Measuring the sea levels in Scotland is easy

You may be right - as I said, it's something I will look into further. But the point I make in my video is that the BBC, Guardian and other media are doing exactly that – confusing local weather with global climate; taking a localised report pertaining to just 41 percent of the UK and calling it proof of "global warming" in sensationalist (to my mind) news reports that were repeated throughout the day.
This type of reporting makes me very sceptical.

As always, sources matter.
Also, always important to remember the difference between Weather, and Climate. They are VERY different.

Sources certainly do matter, which is why I included them in my post. And I'd be interested to know the sources for these claims:

Of the Climate Scientists, 99+% agree that global warming is happening. Of that, 97% place it firmly and clearly in the laps of humans

Congratulations @natubat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83