My DLive Logo Contest Entries

in #dlive6 years ago

dlive_logo_thumb.jpg

DLive is in the process of re-branding and they want their new logo to come from the Community. They recently held a contest for designers to submit their ideas to have the chance for their design become the official DLive logo. You can read up on the design brief and contest rules here.

If you're just now learning about this and you're excited to start working on your own entry, unfortunately the deadline has already passed. But! You can still vote for your favorite designs over at the DLive blog post, scrolling down to the comment section. If you like anything that I submitted, show some love and give it an upvote.

My aim was to create as much variety as possible and stray away from what everyone else was already doing. They didn't offer much in the design brief, so my plan was to throw as many different looks hoping that something stuck.

dlive_logo_01.jpg

My first idea was to incorporate the ninja into the name itself, using the "D" to build the masked face. This seemed to be the most popular concept that other designers came up with. I went with a sporty/gaming team type of style for this one.

dlive_logo_02.jpg

My second concept is a silhouetted ninja throwing a shuriken through the "D". I came to this idea just building off of the previous design and the slash going through "live". I wanted to create a full-body character, but I didn't want it to feel separate from the logo. I kept it simple and gave it a pose that flowed nicely with the rest of the typography.

dlive_logo_03.jpg

I felt like my first two entries were a little to mean looking, so I wanted to soften it up and go with something cuter for my third concept. It's a very simple, iconographic design that can be easily used and translated in all kinds of applications.

dlive_logo_04.jpg

This last one I really just wanted to have some fun with. I had to consider the possibility that they might want to have a full-fledged mascot that they can use in different poses for different materials. I think I enjoyed making this one the most. I can't help but laugh every time I look at his face.

One more time, remember to visit the DLive blog post and upvote your favorite designs! Click here!! The voting deadline is Wednesday, September 5.

I'm the Lead Graphic Designer and Associate Art Director for the creative team at The Imagination House in Orlando, Florida. I also freelance - living, working, and traveling out of my 1984 Volkswagen Van named Nathan. If you have a project you'd like to talk about, email me at [email protected]. I accept Steem and USD.


tog_web_04.png

Thanks for reading! Follow us on Instagram here.
Learn more about us here.

Sort:  

Your stuff is really good. I have a big respect and appreciation for your designs. Nicely done!

Thanks so much! I saw you submitted a few of your designs as well. Lookin good! Good luck to you!

Hey man, nice entries! Can you contact me on discord? :D

Acidyo #8038

Sent you a message! Let me know if you got it.

Amazing WORK! @mrgodby & Your not far from me either, Jax, FL! #FL on #STEEMIT!

Florida represent! Haha thanks man!

Congratulations @mrgodby! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @mrgodby, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @mrgodby! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58