You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do You Respect People With Less Power Than You?

in #dlive6 years ago

I think it is very simple in life, treat others with respect and as you would like to be treated yourself.

Just because you think you are more powerful or have more money or influence doesn't justify you to be a dick to someone.

It is always worth remembering that someone's position today could change drastically in the next year or two.

I had it some time ago when I first started a new job, my ideas were mocked and dismissed by rude individuals and I never forgot them.

A few years later when those same people were pitching to me it was very interesting to see how they acted very differently.

Because someone is working in a coffee shop/restaurant doesn't mean that you are above them, you dont know their story.

They could be training to be a doctor, earn some extra income for there family or even doing the job for some social interaction.

I could go on as I see rude people all the time and it infuriates me.

Overall conclusion - Please dont be a dick!!

Thanks

Sort:  

When I lived in Munich the first question you were made by a person on a get together, party or whatever was: What's your job?

They didn't even ask you for your name first. The single most important thing was to know how much money you supposedly had in your bank account, to then decide whether they wanted to have a further conversation with you or not. I'm not kidding.

Well Munich was special, it's a city full of snobs and posers. So you always have a great chance to run into some of them :-)

These type of actions where one of the reasons why I left the bigger cities and decided to live at a place that's more back to basic. On my island nobody is interested in how much money you have, the only thing that matters is having a good time together. That's totally my style!

Have a great weekend, @furn01 - and thanks for commenting in my blog ;-)

Seriously?

That was the first question, not how are you? How has your day been?

I bet you are glad you do not live there anymore :-)

You could just lie about how much you have in the bank to fit in with these people if you were that way inclined.

Really crazy!!

Although why anyone would want to "fit in" is beyond me. Just be yourself :-) Many fall into the trap of peer pressure, unfortunately.

I think as you get older fitting in and peer pressure becomes much less, at least for me.

I genuinely don't care what anyone thinks of me, I treat others as I would like to be treated myself, regardless of age, gender, religion etc.

Congratulations on finding somewhere that you love and enjoy. An island sounds pretty cool!

Thank you for responding to my comment and I hope you have a great weekend too.

Take Care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00