You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Early BEE Gets A Crocus For His Bed & Breakfast

in #dlive7 years ago (edited)

That video was adorable; I enjoyed it very much. What beautiful colors! I don't know much about bees, so one question: Are they really sleeping in the flowers, or are they just drunk from the nectar and/or exhausted from the pollen gathering work? I would think they're drawn back to the hive, not take naps in flowers?

P.S.: The photos were good, too - not just the video :-)

Sort:  

thanks

I've put 4 short videos in there and it shows the ones I took from yesterday and this noon and I added captions in the video :P so if you watched till the end plus I also mentioned in my post that I went back to check him out ... but I suppose he was sleeping cause he didn't budge this afternoon and the flowers are still close till atm it's gloomy

am not sure this one's have hives but some bumblebees sleep on top of the sunflowers in summer I've seen a lot of those, too they just cling in the middle of the brown plate of the sunflower and fly away the next morning and the birds seem oblivious of them and this one's my first encounter of a bee sleeping in a flower

I suppose he was sleeping

Yes, I saw all that. Honestly, it kinda looks dead to me, but I take your word for it that it's only sleeping. I have also observed bumblebees like you said, but I always thought they're resting on account of their aerodynamics. I've heard of theories whereby they shouldn't even be able to fly (unlike bees). So I simply assumed their poor energy conversion efficiency requires them to rest. For bees this is new to me. Learn something every day.

me, too it's new
it's not dead :D
don't worry
i've worked with many bees in my garden they just look like that
they're slow unless you give them honey
don't worry I'd check out on him again later
and if he's not budging I'd give him Yellow's honeyed water

Board and lodging? Woman, you really are  running a hotel operation! :D

ahhahaha should I charge?
lol
I love them so there !
I can't help it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64