Vote buying EOS eosDAC and How It All Relates – Discussion with @lukestokes

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Dlive and Dtube have both once again failed me...I had to adapt super fast and used Youtube to upload the video since the post has already been published...here it is

Introduction


@lukestokes created a very thought provoking video about EOS, eosDAC, vote buying and how it all relates. Since I have just become a @sndbox steward and part of my job is to brainstorm about decentralized sphere and how to help it grow I decided to start engaging in similar discussions. @lukestokes seemed like he wants us to participate in the topic he outlined, so I took my time prepared my notes during those 2 weeks and on my 5th try managed to pull something listenable off :D. Enjoy…

Recommended prerequisites


Luke’s initial video: He himself stated that prerequisite for that video is somewhat deeper understanding of decentralized sphere – mainly knowledge about EOS/STEEM, what is airdrop and possible monetary incentives on those platforms.


Sort:  

I'm really sorry to have missed this post a month ago. :( I normally get notifications from Gina bot and respond to them.

Extending vote buying via "Information Age / Information Science" to be what I would essentially call a gift economy is quite a stretch, IMO. Vote buying is bribing based on how I understand things. That's much different than a gift economy where everyone does things voluntarily with no expectation of value returns.

I have different perspectives on expectations as I've outlined in previous posts:

I don't do things with an expectation of others. That would be like positive rights, meaning others are obligated to respond based on my actions. I prefer negative rights meaning others will never be in violation if they do nothing at all.

It's unfortunate that I did not see this post earlier, or I would have replied sooner. As it is, you had an expectation of me that I could not meet because I was unaware of this post. It's a small example of why I think these expectations are not a good thing because they can create unnecessary frustration. If I said, "Hey fingersik, thanks for linking me to your post, I'll reply today" and then never reply, that would be my bad. I would be going back on something I committed to doing.

The connection to vote buying here is confusing to me. I think you're describing a gift economy instead and you also throw in some expectations that I'm not personally comfortable with.

Thanks for adding to the discussion though! I really do appreciate it, and I wish I had encountered this post earlier.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34