My opinion on flagging on dlike content

in #dlike5 years ago

So...

What is dlike? What should it be? And what should Steem be?

And beyond what it should be, what is it?

I know everyone that uses Steemit asks themselves these questions at one point or another. I've asked myself these same questions and then allowed them to drift to the recesses of my overthinking brain, but... inevitably... the questions pop back up again to torment me.

So, my main question right now is... is this supposed to be a sharing platform? or is it only a creator/blogger platform? Is it both? Can it be both? Should it be both? Thinking about these things seem like way more trouble than they are worth, but I've had some issues recently that caused me to once again ask myself, at least, what I would like out of Steemit and more specifically what I would like out of dlike.

dlike-logo.png

Recently, the Cheetah bot has flagged a few of my posts and I noticed someone I follow, @nataboo has also started to get downvoted on every dlike post he makes and now his older posts are hidden due to multiple flag bots. I also follow @crypt-skip who writes a little opinion/response to the news he posts, which I enjoy, and I suppose that is what most users on steemit/dlike would want, but quite frankly, I don't think it's necessary. I mean, I like it in the case of crypt-skip since that is his style, but it is not something that I think is a must. When someone posts a bare link to an interesting article I feel like that creates enough value for me that it doesn't seem like spam at all. Which is exactly what nataboo has been getting downvoted under the pretenses of.

I value crypt-skip AND nataboo's content. I don't think just posting a few links is necessarily spamming.

I was using dlike as a way of simply sharing interesting articles, and occasionally some music I've come across that I really enjoy.

One of the top websites that I go to is reddit. A place where I can get good information on different topics, where I can read different people's opinions on these topics, and a place where I can be entertained by various Memes and pictures/videos of dogs and cats doing funny things. This seems like something dlike and steemit would want to emulate, but many people post a single link or image and add no comments of their own and things seem to work out just fine. And another website that I regularly visit is 3quarksdaily (I recommend everyone check out that site for smart, interesting, and thoughtful articles on a variety of topics). Many of the links I've posted on dlike came from there, and the fact is I sort of was modelling my way of posting on the way 3quarksdaily post. They quote a few paragraphs from whichever article they are linking to.

So, I've noticed while browsing the site, I quickly look through the headlines, and if that pulls me in, I'll click the link to see more of the article, and if that pulls me in even further, I'll jump to the main website they are linking to. Pretty normal obvious stuff right? Well, I figured in many ways that seems like what the dlike idea most closely represents.

The funny thing to me is, if I do this now the "steemcleaners" come and flag me. And, I can still post a single link to a youtube video that I thought was interesting and i'm not flagged by these bots, and no one accuses me of stealing anything. It's just me sharing something cool and interesting that I found on the vastness of the internet.

I hope this doesn't sound like a whining post, it's just a strange thing. The internet is a crazy big sharing machine, and it seems natural in a social media world that Steem inhabits, as long as you are using quotes and not posting a full article I would think that would be ok...

flagger-sign.webp
source

I guess at this point if I continue to post I'll have to either leave the tiny couple of sentences (sometimes only a fragment of a sentence) that dlike pulls from the articles I'm linking to or write a small blurb of my thoughts. Though, sadly, my thoughts about the articles usually consist of "Well, this is interesting, I'd like to share it with others." Will I have to write that from now on? It seems pretty silly and doesn't improve anything. I just don't seem the need for it. So many of these bots that have been created in order to "improve" the steemit platform actually just make the experience here so much worse and dumb down so much, and seems like a way for overly controlling actions from a group of former hall monitors that ruins the potential that they are trying to foster.

It's an easily abused system, I know, but the problems the bots are created to try and solve don't really do the trick. Or, I admit to not knowing... maybe they are doing a good job and I'm just seeing the small downsides. A platform is created in order to share links of things the user "likes" and then that same user gets flagged or downvoted for using the platform in the way it was created for. I dunno. Just my thoughts...

Sort:  

Nice post buddy, and I still get hit by the Steemcleaners every now and then, even though I put my own comments in. But I like dlike because it allows me to express myself and the things that interest me without having to write everything myself. I mean, I would love to write all of my own posts but I am just not a good enough writer. Not to mention I like to share stories of things I find interesting.
I look at dlike as a platform to express yourself, but in a different way, by sharing what you feel instead of creating what you feel. I make original content as well, I think that is very important to steemit because original content is what steemit is all about. But I think platforms like dlike and parley expand the playing field so more people can become part of the game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Its interesting to me that it actually wasnt until the rise of a lot of these dapps that I got really sucked into the steemit platform again. I think understanding that anything that gets people interacting with the blockchain increases its value. Some people are going to create original content and some people are going to just post links they found and comment and upvote content and not do much if any creating content and that's ok, and some, like you and I are going to do a mixture of original and non original content. But getting more people engaged can only be better for the ecosystem of steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Amen brother, couldn't have said it better myself

Posted using Partiko Android

I consider Steemit as a creator/blog platform, I prefer reading original posts, it seems to me there's no point on sharing something and that's it. Of course I don't flag anyone for that, I understand some people have the hability to write and some others haven't, personally I've written only one post since I joined the site a while ago. If you allow me a suggestion, you could write something about what you want to share and then share, not something "It's interesting" but maybe why you consider it interesting.

Thank you for the suggestion. I'll try doing that and see if it feels more natural.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thespacebetween from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64