My Portfolio #13 Jumping Horse

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

I sculpted this in limewood.

It was designed to go above a fire place and looks as if the Horse was jumping through the wall.

I mounted it on a piece of quarter sawn oak which I carved to have a rippled effect. Almost as if the horse was jumping through a wormhole.

I stained the limewood very, very dark and then polished it.

This was the first time I had studied a horses anatomy and it is an in depth subject.

I enhanced certain feature and muscles in order to catch the light more effectively.

Many thanks,

@jist


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

This is awesome! You sculpted that? So cool! You got skills! :) Sorry for the over use of the exclamation point. But seriously great job. :)

Thanks Man! I was very passionate about this piece. It took a long time and I was obsessed. The thing with something like this is you never know if it will be a success until you have made the last cut, so many a late night spend carving it.

You are very welcome! I bet it took a long time! Again, really good job. :)

@jist wow this is incredible.you are unique and awesome artist,sir

Thank you, I do enjoy the big sculptures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05