DIY Upcycling For Income - 100% Free Finds Saved & Sold For $1,173 - iPod, Miele, Nerf, Electrolux - HUSTLE PAYS

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

Would you believe me if I found this 1940's antique on the curb and sold it in under 30 mins for $125 to an ecstatic woman who'd been waiting for an eBay alert?

True story:

This is why I love doing this. I can't stand when valuable things are destroyed for no reason when people really want or need them.

You CAN and WILL generate your own income if you know how to identify overlooked value and put in the effort.

Here are more FREE things I've found on the curbs near my apartment on recycling nights. I walk them home, list them, and someone who needs them buys them.

It couldn't be any easier, but hundreds of people walk by these things all afternoon and evening without a care. It's mind boggling and sad. I'm glad that I can at least do my part physically, but sharing this vision can do far more.

People often wish they had extra money to buy more crypto, pay off debt, or go to a conference. If you find motivation, get creative, and do the proactive work, you can.

Seek and you shall find.


More upcycled examples:

Working semi-auto Nerf machine gun sold for $98. (Showed this recently, but for newer followers)

Complete Miele vacuum sold for $222, surprisingly a common find.

Electroux Assistent mixer base part only sold for $209.

NVIDIA Shield P2571 Video gaming console sold for $150.

Sealed new printer toner sold for $100. (Unbelievable, right?)

Sun-Us Kangen water supply sold untested for $75 cash.

Apple iPod 16 GB Nano with +2,715 Songs sold for $70. Found with a charge in a clear bag.

Sealed new art book sold for $45.

29 new balls of French cotton sold for $40. (Sold a set of 24 of these before.)

Vacuum part sold for $39.

Revenue is before applicable shipping and fees.

All free. All profit. All saved from being destroyed.

I have endless examples, so stay tuned for more ideas and inspiration.

Start by looking around your home and neighborhoods. Listing and shipping something is virtually effortless when you compare it to sitting in a cubicle for 8+ hours after sitting in traffic on your commute.

Thanks for your interest,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

WOW! I wish I have ever seen such items somewhere in the neighborhood. There is nothing for free around here :D Cool, that you can make some money selling this stuff. It's also strange that people simply put it on the street instead of trying to sell them. After reading your post there will be many more stuff hunters :D

Good luck with selling! Thank you for sharing your idea!

Have a lovely day!

Beautiful. The yarn buyer got a bargain!

Ink, the one thing I always pick up even if expired (as long as it is genuine branded). Stuff is like liquid gold.

Most thrift stores sell expired ink as if it’s valid. They don’t think to check at all, so old ones never sell and people open the packages to ruin everything. I usually just get the valid genuine stuff if the margin is right. Toner doesn’t expire, so that helps.

The yarn/cotton are small balls. The rate I got was actually higher than the usual $1 per. They’re the size of golf balls.

Oh, I thought the yarn was like English muffin sized.

Thrift stores be crazy sometimes, so I have been doing the auctions and the pay by the pound Goodwill outlet.

I've found quite a few iPods at thrift stores for cheap. Crazy how people would just toss one like it's trash. An NVidia Shield too. Just crazy

I was tempted to keep the nvidia. It didn’t have a remote, but I used it via the phone app to test it and clear out his data. I also have an iPad I found that doesn’t have a password on it and is logged into his email account. iPods are hard flips in thrift stores since they over charge. I do have a first generation iPod I haven’t listed yet that’s worth about $200 that I got for $30. The battery is still good. It’s something I’m not in a rush to sell since it’ll only get more valuable I suppose.

Do you have photo logs or records you’ll wind up sharing sometime?

I don't really want to try to look up records, but the first generation iPod nanos sold well. I've found vintage clothing like old Levi's jeans, high end audio and furniture before. I just kind of fell out of the grind and haven't been doing it for several years. Your posts make me want to pick up the hobby again though. It is really fun finding something valuable. It feels like treasure hunting. Even if it isn't the biggest-ticket item it can be a lot of fun.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

It is something that I am interesting to do. Do you sell all your stuff on Ebay?

Posted using Partiko Android

I primarily sell on eBay since I'm built up there, but I do sell on Craigslist for certain types of items that I don't want to ship.

The best way to experiment is by trying to find and sell a few things around your home that may have some hidden value. Even parts of larger items can be worth more than the larger item sold separately. Get creative. Look up the value of what things are selling for and you may be surprised that something very random might be an easy $25+ item.

...Once you sell those, then it's time to look for more things to sell! Positive reinforcement helps the process flow naturally.

Thank for this nice answer!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68