CABINET MAKER X #6 Cabinet Door Repair. Part 2

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

Welcome back to the second part of my repairs to an oak kitchen cabinet door.

In this video I show how I groove the rails, mark out and cut the mortises.

I always cut the panel grooves after I have cut the joints, this is to reduce breakout. (splintering of the wood's edges)

As the door stiles are already made I have no choice but to mortise them with a groove already in but that is not an issue in this instance

I use a slot cutter on the router table and I also use a feather board to hold the work piece down as I machine it.

Feather boards are an excellent edition to a router table as they increase accuracy and safety.

Then I set up and use my mortising machine to cut the mortises. If you are in business as a woodworker or even a serious hobbyist, a mortising machine is a must have. It will speed up production and give accurate results again and again.

The last step is to clean up the existing stiles ready for the gluing stage.

 
 
Jist_Separator.png
 
 

Disclaimer:

Always adopt safe working practices. The way I do things are for illustrative purposes only and may not work for you so make sure you have all the relevant safety information and protective safety wear.

 
 
Jist_Separator.png
 
 

If you have any questions about woodwork, furniture or being self employed as a crafts person let me know.

I know my wood and I have spent years teaching myself furniture making , furniture history as well as living it as a self employed cabinet maker .

I am also in the process of writing a

'How to series: Setting up a Woodworking Business'

Which you can read here;
Part 1: Workshop
Part 2: Tools and machinery
Part 3: Finding a good timber yard
Part 4: Deciding what type of woodwork you are going to do.
Part 5: Advertising and getting customers
Part 6: Dealing with Customers.
Still I am learning every day and the journey is the point.
We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

And a weekly woodworking post competition ,which you can read about here

1createdwoodworking.jpg

 
 
Jist_Separator.png
 
 
@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

 
 
Jist_Separator.png
 
 

Steemfollower is a great way to get more upvotes from like minded steemians.
 
 
Jist_Separator.png
 
 

Many thanks for reading,

Until next time,

@jist

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72