Holiday DIY | Still Need Stocking Stuffers? Bird’s Organic Winter Lip Aide!

in #diy5 years ago

DSC_0016 (2).jpg


Oh my goodness! The winter air is crisp and DRY!


Good morning my fellow Steemers!


Yesterday was the Winter Solstice! Yes, the shortest day of the year and the first day of winter. The first day of winter brings dryer, cooler weather and for the Bird family that always means dry skin and chapped lips! When I arrived in Denver I noticed the little grandson’s cheeks were already chapped! Yikes!


When we lived in the Midwest

My hands and lips were always a mess. Being a runner meant lots of outdoor time during the winter months and even though I wore gloves the weather really took a toll on my hands. Of course a lot of cooking didn’t help much either!


As I prepared for sharing our homespun Christmas this year I knew Organic and healthy rescue for the lips would be welcomed. The ingredients are pure, organic and or course, there are NO preservatives!


It is so simple and inexpensive to make it yourself!

todaysjourney.jpg


The Bird’s Organic Winter Lip Aide


Minty Lip Aide

  • Organic Shea Butter (2 tbsp.)
  • Organic Coconut Oil (2tbsp.)
  • Organic White Beeswax Pellets (2tbsp.)
  • Organic Mint Essence Oil
  • Lip Balm Tubes (qty 18)

DSC_0002 (2).jpg


  • I melted the beeswax pellets over a boiling water bath. Low heat and slowly... When the wax was melted, stir in the Shea Butter and Coconut Oil. When all is melted remove from the heat and add drops of Mint. It’s really your preference, I though a bit of peppermint would be refreshing on a winter morning but you can use any fragrance you wish! I used a turkey baster to fill each tube with the lip balm.

DSC_0010 (2).jpg



  • Be careful, it is hot! Believe me I found out how easily the tubes tip, lol! You may need to top off each tube a bit. Let everything cool thoroughly.

DSC_0015 (2).jpg


So easy right?


DSC_0019 (2).jpg


Wipe any excess balm of each tube and add labels and you’re ready to go! I made 18 tubes! This should give the Bird family a cool start for the winter season!


Enjoy!


DSC_0016 (2).jpg


These make great stocking stuffers as well as a quick rescue gift for friends!

DSC_0017 (2).jpg


Thanks for stopping by the Birds nest today!


I hope you all have a blessed and safe Holiday season


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

That is so neat that you made these yourself. The best part is , you know what is in it, the same can't be said for store bought ones.

Well, it is amazing how easy it is. I am sure your wife and daughters could whip these out in no time! Thank you @sultnpapper, appreciate the kind words. Hope you had a Merry Christmas! :)

Wow @birdsinparadise, these are wonderful little stocking fillers even for the summer months! Lovely photos as well! Thank you for sharing your gifts from the heart with us :)

Thank you my friend. It is much more fun to make and share gifts you have made, don't you think? I think they'll come in handy! :)

Oh it certainly is, was lovely seeing the delight on the faces! Your lip aide is gorgeous:)

In summer here my lips always dry up and I need lip balm so I have bookmarked this to try and remember to make some near the end of winter so I am ready for the warmer months

You will be surprised how easy it is! Do try and let me know what you think! Thanks @tatoodjay!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 349 (12/23/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! I so appreciate the feature! Merry Christmas! Steem On1

You are incredible. These are the perfect little gifts and I use chapstick everyday. In fact, I don’t think I could live without my Burt’s bees. It’s the mintiness of it, it makes your lips feel medicated. These are just perfect Mrs. Bird!

You could totally make these @puravidaville! Costs pennies to make compared to buying Burt's bees! I'm sure being the runner you are...need that lip aide! :) Thanks @puravidaville, you're the best!

Oh, you know it. Maybe when we get settle over there I’ll try my hand at them. They’d make great little gifts for the neighbors :)

As if I didn't adore you enough already--I think I have lip balm squirreled away all over my house! What a fantastic little gift. I am definitely a fan of the mint, as well. I bet those will definitely come in handy for a Colorado winter!

I think they were a hit! Colorado was cold, the minute I stepped off the plane my lips were chapped, lol Thank you Katie, you are so kind. The mint did add a little added bonus, I hope you'll try making them some time. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71299.70
ETH 3793.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80