Who do I follow

in #discussion6 years ago


And why?
...............................................................................................................................................................

notice the disparity in numbers?
The other day I ran an experiment

Twenty some people commented and engaged in the discussion.
I realize that some of the real people who follow me are busy people..they live in other time zones and might have missed it...SO...I used a very sophisticated mathmatical analysis to determine how many real followers I have.

In other words I took a wild guess.

I estimate that I have Forty some odd REAL followers.
The other 4435 are either


dead

or 'bots

I hate bots

That said...
I want to take the opportunity to thank every one of my followers who are REAL PEOPLE


Without you I'd just be treading water, talking to my self and getting nowhere, so thanks for your participation.
You might notice that there is a great disparity between those who follow me...and those that I follow?
ATt the moment I'm following 128 people and I've chosen them with care.

A few...quite a few actually... are 'top ranking' people who I just read what they post.
People like
Ned, the . CEO of Steemit.
steemitblog who regularly issues 'report' from the 'devs'
dragosroua whom I've assigned my witness proxy too.
blocktrades who is not even a single person, I don't think, rather it's a blog run by an exchange that I use several times a day. Any news that affects their operations, and me, is posted there.

And quite a few others of similar nature.

Smart guys...people who post IMPORTANT stuff. A lot of which (most of it) is over my head. In other words I have no clue what they are talking about, but I'm learning. I read what they write and pick up a little bit here...a little bit there...a learn a lot from those guys, but I don't interact with them much.

The others are folks who I follow I DO interact with a lot. I engage with them in debate, battles of wit, and all around enjoyable conversation. I spend MOST of my time converseing with those guys...except when I'm writing post of my own. Sometimes I do both at the same time.

I'll tell you right now who I do NOT follow.


I don't follow 'bots.

or
New To Steemit? Follow Begging Will DESTROY You: DO - NOT - DO - IT! Here's Why...
I'm Sick of Spamming Steemit Beggars
and further more
"Hi, This Is A Very Useless Comment..."

Your post is very good, wow, so great.
Did I tell you how awesome your post is and how great of an author you are? Very good my friend.
You are a great author. Your posts always fascinated me. Please like me back

Nope...doesn't cut the mustard. I mute them so fast I almost sprain my finger...like I do all bots.

I follow real people who post about real stuff
(sorry about that flat-earthers, chemtrails and many other conspiracy nuts)
Many times I follow someone for a while..then decide that I'm underwhelmed and unfollow him.
Some times I'm SO not impressed that I mute them. Sometimes I re-follow or un-mute later. It all depends.

Perhaps I could compare my list of people that I follow to a garden. I'm picky about what I select for my garden. If a particular plant doesn't grow right...out it comes. It might be the wrong time of year...I might have had too much too drink (ooops...forget I said that)...I may be tired, short on sleep and grumpy....or for any other reason...who knows?

But.....that's how I do it.
How about you?

Sort:  

I give you upvote but my power low no effect your post my upvote. Sorry friend

thank you
it's the thought that counts.
but you are mistaken.
every vote counts...sometimes it's just not very visible.

Sorry friend but now i will give you upvote and Resteem your post.

I recently unfollowed a bunch of people. I was doing the whole noob following everyone who told me they followed me thing at first... I love art, and writing, and music and nature and learning about homesteading and living off grid and slowly I'm gaining more of an appreciation for photography by seeing all the great photographers on here. As time goes I'll curate my following list even more I'm sure.

I did the same thing when I started. At one time I was following about 900 accounts
then

some changes were made.
I did a little bit of pruning...clearing out the deadwood.

That;s about how my facebook graph would look lol

Your approach to steemit is a whole new world that everyone can learn from. We should all follow people who post reasonable stuff and help build our intellect and character and make us learn new things and become better people. Following bots is a no no for me. Like how can a man follow a robot, isnt it supposed to be the other way round?

I can understand what you mean. I have over 300 followers and I can tell you that probably only 10 of them interact with me. Others who upvote my post probably came across it by chance because it was resteemed.

I am grateful for the few who actually read through.

The ones you follow would be really special. I like your way of pick and chose. It doesn't make your feed all flooded with things which you don't enjoy.
Being a new joiner I got carried away following many people and now my feeds are all flooded with Color contest, Black and White contest, pictures of flowers and what not.
I will have to start un-following now.

that's what I did.
I'm not much into contests...some folks like them.
Not me.

It's surprising how many commenters are doing exactly what you say that you hate!

I've also started to prune the people I follow. Due to plankton anxiety disorder, I followed as many people as I could in the beginning of my Steemit journey. I came to realise that most of them were dead accounts. Many of them also created content that I could not relate to and just jammed up my Feed.

I guess this is part of the housekeeping that we need to do.

Sometimes you just gotta thin the herd, I made some bad follows myself and I am slowly weeding them out. I too, hate spammy comments, especially when all they do is post a link to their article in a comment - that's just plain rude and unacceptable!

Hey I see you follow me.
I don't post anything thought, I'm way to busy with renovating
I do a lot of the things like you do, like, reading post I don't understand fully or totally. :) I do "follow" a lot more people thought, but the cleaning up will have to wait.
Well keep on steemin, I might not read everything, but I do read a lot of what you write.

It's even funny when i realize how many people do i actually interact with lol

But sometimes I think people are closed to the possibility of adding new ones to their circle, just like real life, not only in here. But what if we compare it to the number of followers and interactions on instagram for example? People tend to "change" their lives there, they are even shallow while pretending to have a perfect life..

I think about this a lot lol, how do social media manages us and how we use them according to "what" exactly.

Young people tend to even abuse of social medias, i guess that with aging comes wisdom, cheers.

monkeysphere..dunbar's number.

LOL Monkeysphere, i couldn't say it better.
See you around friend.

I love flat earth, it is wonderful piece of fiction FOR REAL.
I just do not know... who I follow, or is it really relevant, as I am using the lists to organize where am I going ( and why).
For the last week maybe I started following again, but I don't even use my feed to find topics.
I know that I can find here something I can read and comment on, the trouble is that sometimes I have a really good content and a writer is awesome, but my brain is dead and I have no clue what to say....

better to say nothing and just vote rather than say something inane and stupid. If you say something stoopid the author might mistake you for a 'bot...and mute you.

Well, not.... that.
I was muted a few times, but I have no idea why.
I had one Japanese author ( I think he was writing in some exotic language an I believe it was a Japanese), so it can be because he wasn't using English and he wanted maybe to clean his feed, to make it more comfortable.
But...
I was downvoted for consorting a person with a considerate amount of care and respect, because she thought I am not showing an immense amount of 'reaction' because I clearly didn't understand what is that huge problem about.

From where can I even start to analyse that? How?

The funniest thing? I was discussing safety with steemflagaward or reward, something like that... when that happen. Like, we were debating about these super-tech algorithms that could make Steemit safer place, w/o plagiarism, that kind of thing... and on another side I was getting whooped... ( LOL).
I discussed that what happened with Patrice from Steemit Cleansing Service .... apparently nothing happened to me, but it was a near out of the body experience.
Some people are so confusing, but I believe it is my mistake to pick the wrong company.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51